PDA

View Full Version : Linking forums to website problem


CampinCarl
03-20-2009, 12:42 PM
I'm trying to link the forums to my website so I can use all of the forum variables.

Here is how I'm linking my site to the forums:
define('VB_AREA', 'Forum');
define('CWD', 'C:/path/to/site/httpdocs/forums');
require_once(CWD . '/global.php');
require_once(CWD . '/includes/init.php');

It works but I'm having a strange problem on my website now where the first include I use won't work.

1) I link to forums with above code.
2) I try to include another file onto my website.
3) The first include doesn't work, but all includes after the first will work.

Anyone have any idea why this happens?

--------------- Added 1237574524 at 1237574524 ---------------

I found the problem but I'm not sure why it's happening.

On the forums I have a custom header included via require_once. Now when including the forums global.php on my website I guess it is including that header? So, when trying to use require_once again with that file on my website it wasn't showing up.

But now my question is, why when including global.php does it include the forums header even though I don't see it?

TigerC10
03-21-2009, 11:43 PM
Try this instead:


$previousdir = getcwd();
define('VB_AREA', 'Forum');
chdir ( "C:/path/to/site/httpdocs/forums" );
require_once("global.php");
require_once("/includes/init.php");
chdir ( $previousdir );

Dismounted
03-22-2009, 05:27 AM
global.php already defines VB_AREA, it also already includes init.php.
$cwd = getcwd();
chdir('C:/path/to/site/httpdocs/forums');
require_once('./global.php');
chdir($cwd);