PDA

View Full Version : Error on page


Jaime82
03-09-2009, 02:30 AM
Can anyone tell me why I get an error on a php page when I move it out of the bbs directory and into a chat directory and add the chdir line of code? I get the error:
Line 43
Char 1
Object Expected

I will paste the code below.

Thanks

Jaime



<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS', 1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'Chat'); // change this depending on your filename

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array(

);

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array(

);

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
'Chat',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array(

);

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################

chdir('/path/to/bbs/directory');
require_once('/path/to/bbs/directory/global.php');

// ################################################## #####################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// ################################################## #####################

$navbits = array();
$navbits[$parent] = 'Chat Page';

$navbits = construct_navbits($navbits);
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('Chat') . '");');

?>

TigerC10
03-09-2009, 03:05 AM
Your problem is how you're setting the navbits. $parent isn't defined... You should do this instead...


<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS', 1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'Chat'); // change this depending on your filename

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array(

);

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array(

);

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
'Chat',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array(

);

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################

chdir('/path/to/bbs/directory');
require_once('/path/to/bbs/directory/global.php');

// ################################################## #####################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// ################################################## #####################

$navbits = array();
$navbits["chat.php"] = 'Chat Page';

$navbits = construct_navbits($navbits);
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('Chat') . '");');

?>


I guess you could also define a $parent variable yourself, if you want - but it's not like you have to.

Jaime82
03-09-2009, 11:45 PM
I put chat.php where you said and still get an error, but on line 47 now. I only have 45 lines of code in that file, could the error be in my template? I don't understand this, all the code works fine when I have this file in the bbs directory, but I get an error when I move it out of the bbs directory into my chat directory. Will post my code below.



<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS', 1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'Chat'); // change this depending on your filename

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array(

);

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array(

);

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
'Chat',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array(

);

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################

chdir('/path/to/bbs/directory');
require_once('/path/to/bbs/directory/global.php');

// ################################################## #####################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// ################################################## #####################

$navbits = array();
$navbits["chat.php"] = 'Chat Page';

$navbits = construct_navbits($navbits);
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('Chat') . '");');
?>

TigerC10
03-10-2009, 12:02 AM
What's your new error message?

Jaime82
03-10-2009, 12:57 AM
I was editing my template tonight and now the line of the error has changed. The error is now this:

Line 22
Char 1
Object Expected

Could the error be in my template? Could there be something wrong with the way I'm changing directories in my php file? I'm wondering that cause everything works fine when the php file is in my bbs directory where my global.php file is.

Thanks

Jaime

TigerC10
03-10-2009, 01:36 AM
Well, changing the working directory generally only messes up other includes... I don't see anything in your code that would cause that problem. If you think it's a problem, you can try this:


<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS', 1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'Chat'); // change this depending on your filename

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array(

);

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array(

);

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
'Chat',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array(

);

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
$curr_dir = getcwd();
chdir('/path/to/bbs/directory');
require_once('/path/to/bbs/directory/global.php');
chdir( $curr_dir );

// ################################################## #####################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// ################################################## #####################

$navbits = array();
$navbits["chat.php"] = 'Chat Page';

$navbits = construct_navbits($navbits);
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('Chat') . '");');
?>


Although I have a question... Why are you defining NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS to true? Doesn't that stop you from accessing the global variables? What happens if you define it to false instead?

Jaime82
03-10-2009, 02:43 AM
I changed NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS to false and that didn't change anything. I also added the code in red that you added to my code and I still get the same error message.

Any other suggestions?

Thanks

Jaime

TigerC10
03-10-2009, 03:37 AM
Can you post your Chat template?

BSMedia
03-10-2009, 04:14 AM
Thats a template error and not an error from the php file.

Its usually from using coding thats not up to standards. Try to run the template through a validator.

Dismounted
03-10-2009, 05:09 AM
Templates cannot be placed directly into the W3C validator - as it contains vBulletin's custom tags.

Jaime82
03-10-2009, 08:59 PM
Pasted below is my template

<!-- Not Registered Users, or Not Logged in Users See This -->
<center>
<if condition="$show['registerbutton']">
<td class="vbmenu_control">
<div align="center" class="mediumfont"><b>To Enter the Chat Room</b></div>
<br>
<br>
You must have a registered chat name to enter our chat rooms. If you have<br>not yet registered your chat name and would like to do so, please <a href="register.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">Click Here</a></td>

<br>
<br>

<table border="0" width="70%" align="center">
<td class="alt2" nowrap="nowrap" style="padding:0px">

<!-- login form -->
<center>
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>Log in</legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="2" border="0" align="center">
<tr>
<form action="../bbs/login.php" method="post" onsubmit="md5hash(vb_login_password, vb_login_md5password, vb_login_md5password_utf, $show[nopasswordempty])">
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/vbulletin_md5.js"></script>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0">
<tr>
<td class="smallfont">Chat Name</td>
<td><input type="text" class="bginput" style="font-size: 11px" name="vb_login_username" id="navbar_username" size="40" accesskey="u" tabindex="101" value="" onfocus="if (this.value == '$vbphrase[username]') this.value = '';" /></td>

</tr>
<tr>
<td class="smallfont">$vbphrase[password]</td>
<td><input type="password" class="bginput" style="font-size: 11px" name="vb_login_password" size="40" accesskey="p" tabindex="102" /></td>
</tr>
<br>
<td class="smallfont" colspan="2" nowrap="nowrap"><label for="cb_cookieuser_navbar"><input type="checkbox" name="cookieuser" value="1" tabindex="103" id="cb_cookieuser_navbar" accesskey="c" />$vbphrase[remember_me]</label>

&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
<a href="../bbs/login.php?do=lostpw" target="_top">Forgot Your Password?</a>

<br>
<br>
<center>
<input type="submit" class="button" value="Join Chat" tabindex="104" accesskey="s" />
</center>
</td>

</tr>
</table>
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" />
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="login" />
<input type="hidden" name="vb_login_md5password" />
<input type="hidden" name="vb_login_md5password_utf" />
</form>
<!-- / login form -->
</center>
<br>
</td>


</fieldset>
</tr>
</table>
</if>
</center>

<!-- / Already Logged in Users See This -->

<if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">

<td class="alt2" valign="top" nowrap="nowrap">
<div class="smallfont">
<strong><phrase 1="$bbuserinfo[username]">$vbphrase[welcome_x]</phrase></strong><br />
<phrase 1="$pmbox[lastvisitdate]" 2="$pmbox[lastvisittime]">$vbphrase[last_visited_x_at_y]</phrase>
</div>
</td>
</table>
</if>

<div align="center">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:0px">
<tr align="center">
<if condition="$show['member']">

<script language="Javascript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
function realchatPopup(url, nn, pu, au, hmac) {
var r = screen.height / screen.width;
var w = screen.width>800?1000:800;
var h = Math.round(w*r);
var c = function(s) { return encodeURIComponent(s).replace('!', '%21'); }
var rcw = window.open(url + '&nn=' + c(nn) + '&pu=' + c(pu) +'&au=' + c(au) + '&hmac=' + hmac + '&cu=cw', 'rc',
'width='+w+',height='+h+',status=no,toolbar=no,men ubar=no,location=no,scrollbars =yes,resizable=yes');
rcw.focus();
}
//-->
</script>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$chatLink">Chat Now</a></td>
</if>
</tr>
</table>
</div>

TigerC10
03-11-2009, 07:03 AM
Well, here's one thing I saw that I didn't like...


<form action="../bbs/login.php"


You actually do it a couple times. The .. in the path var means, "go up one directory from where we are" and then it looks in a folder called bbs for a file called login.php. But you should be running this script from within the bbdirectory. So there should be no need for the ../bbs in your template, it should simply be...


<form action="login.php"




You're probably doing those crazy ../bbs things because you haven't put this script in the bbdirectory. If it is operating outside the vBulletin directory - then you probably shouldn't be using the vbulletin template engine but instead hardcode it in your php file. Most vBulletin styles use relative paths for their images, you'd have to ensure it uses absolute paths in the skin to make it look right if your custom php script is operating outside the bbdir.


Let's try to get a picture of your directory tree...


webroot
+bbs
---+admincp
----(etc. all of vBulletin's files)
+chat
----yourcustom.php


Does that look about right? Because that's the way it seems like from your template. This directory structure looks unnecessarily complicated...