Log in

View Full Version : php contact form help redirecting to a thank you page


tipoboy
02-23-2009, 08:44 PM
hi there i am using a php page as a contact form, the code is:


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<?php
if(isset($_POST['submit'])){
//GET ALL FORM INFO INTO VARIABLES
$name = $_POST['name'];
$SAFEname = htmlentities($name);
$email = $_POST['email'];
$SAFEemail = htmlentities($email);
$contactnumber = $_POST['contactnumber'];
$SAFEcontactnumber = htmlentities($contactnumber);
$subject = $_POST['subject'];
$SAFEsubject = htmlentities($subject);
$message = $_POST['message'];
$SAFEmessage = htmlentities($message);
$to = 'enquiries@mysite.co.uk';
$subject = 'Contact Forrm';
$msg = "Name: ".$SAFEname."\nEmail: ".$SAFEemail."\nContact Number: ".$SAFEcontactnumber."\nSubject: ".$SAFEsubject."\nMessage: ".$SAFEmessage."\n";
$headers = "From: ".$SAFEemail."\nReply-To: ".$SAFEemail."\nReturn-Path: ".$SAFEemail."\n";

if($SAFEname != "" && $SAFEmessage != ""){
mail($to, $subject, $msg, $headers);
echo "<fieldset><legend>Thank You&nbsp;&nbsp;</legend>Thank you for emailing us, please allow up to 48 hours for a reply! Very occasionally it may take longer to reply, please be patient with us If you have not had a reply within 7 days please feel free to email again!</fieldset>";
} else {
echo "<fieldset><legend>Error&nbsp;&nbsp;</legend>Please fill in all requires fields, thank you.</fieldset>";
}}
?>
<html>
<head>
<title>Contact Page</title>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="stylesheet.css">
</head>

<table id="main" width="660" border="1" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td width="790"><img src="images/baner.gif" alt="welcome" width="385" height="65"></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><table width="650" border="0">
<tr>
<td class="navigation" width="120" rowspan="2" valign="top">
<?php
require("navigation.php")
?>
</td>
<td><p class="heading">::: welcome :::</p><hr width="90%"></td>

</tr>
<tr>
<td><fieldset>
<legend>Contact Us&nbsp;&nbsp;</legend>
<form method="post" action="contactus.php">
<table width="500" border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="5" class="contact">
<tr>
<td colspan="2"><p class="second"><font color="#FF0000">All
fields are required to be filled otherwise an error will
occur, thank you</font></p></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="contact">Name:</td>
<td class="contactinput"><input name="name" type="text" size="25" maxlength="50">
<font color="#FF0000" size="1"><em>*required</em> </font></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="contact">Email:</td>
<td class="contactinput"><input name="email" type="text" size="25" maxlength="100">
<font color="#FF0000" size="1"><em>*required</em> </font></td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td class="contact">Contact Number:</td>
<td class="contactinput"><input name="contactnumber" type="text" size="25" maxlength="20">
<font color="#FF0000" size="1"><em>*required</em> </font></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="contact">Subject:</td>
<td class="contactinput"><select name="cusubject" id="cusubject">
<option>Please Select From The Following:</option>
<option>E-mail a Question</option>
<option>Request a Price List</option>
<option>Request More Information</option>
<option>New Year Reel Information</option>
<option>Other</option>
</select> <font color="#FF0000" size="1"><em>*required</em>
</font></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="contact">Message:</td>
<td class="contactinput"><textarea name="message" cols="27" rows="5" id="message"></textarea>
<font color="#FF0000" size="1"><em>*required</em> </font></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td></td>
<td class="contactinput"><input name="submit" type="submit" value="Send message" class="submit"></td>
</tr>
</table>
</form>
</fieldset><br>
</td>
</tr>
</table></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="copyright" height="21" colspan="3"><br>
<?php
require("copyright.php");
?>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</body>
</html>


what i'd like to do is instead of using text in a fieldset with the thank you or error outputs, i'd like to link to a thank you page and an error page, am in the process of trying to learn some php and any assistance is grately appreciated:)

ta very much
dave

TigerC10
02-23-2009, 08:56 PM
Wow... Didn't look down the list of threads in this area? I mean, it's right there on the first page.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=206347

tipoboy
02-23-2009, 09:14 PM
Wow... Didn't look down the list of threads in this area? I mean, it's right there on the first page.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=206347

hmm i see you didnt read the whole question, i did read that post however and tried the
header("Location: http://www.example.com/");


but when i tried it i got an error at the top of my page saying


Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/*******/public_html/mysite.co.uk/contactus.php:2) in /home/*******/public_html/mysite.co.uk/contactus.php on line 28


so my question i asked was how i could, when my submit button is pressed and everything is filled in corretly and fine i get the thankyou.php page

but if there is an error i get directed tio an error.php page

but thank you for your reply either way

TigerC10
02-23-2009, 10:27 PM
Did you do the last post I gave in that thread? Using the ob_end_flush() function?

Dismounted
02-24-2009, 04:09 AM
You must have no output before running that PHP code. You have this at the top of the page (and is considered output):
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">

tipoboy
02-24-2009, 06:29 AM
Did you do the last post I gave in that thread? Using the ob_end_flush() function?

no i never tried that, but dismounted's suggestion of moving the doctype has worked thanks for the help anywayz :)

You must have no output before running that PHP code. You have this at the top of the page (and is considered output):
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">

thanks dismounted thats worked, got it working now:)

TigerC10
02-24-2009, 05:24 PM
no i never tried that, but dismounted's suggestion of moving the doctype has worked thanks for the help anywayz :)

That's why I suggested using ob_end_flush(). Using that function allows you to have output before doing the redirect.