PDA

View Full Version : Enable External Javascript


TheInsaneManiac
02-19-2009, 03:03 AM
Is it safe to do this? Is it more server intensive? I only added one thing that uses it, but I didn't know if I enabled it, if other things in vbulletin would begin to use this as well.

Shamil.
02-19-2009, 03:15 AM
The page will load slower but it will be easier on the server.

Dismounted
02-19-2009, 04:00 AM
The page will not necessarily load slower, it may in fact load faster as the YUI JS may have already been cached by the user visiting a website that uses the framework (and also fetches the JS directly from Yahoo).

vbplusme
02-19-2009, 07:33 AM
I have a few javascripts that I load from disk because they are simply unwieldy to try to manage in a template, a world clock for example. I don't notice any problems with them usually and especially have they have been loaded the first time. HTH

Dismounted
02-19-2009, 08:02 AM
Hold on. Are wee talking about the external YUI function of vBulletin or just about using external JS generally?

vbplusme
02-19-2009, 08:14 AM
I thought he was talking about using an external .js file rather than adding javascript code to a template, for example. I didn't see any reference to YUI JS except in your reply?

TheInsaneManiac
02-19-2009, 08:18 PM
I just have a random javascript code, it wouldnt work until I enabled external javascript. I'm wondering if any other coding in vbulletin uses external javascript when enabled. If so what and how will it affect my server?

Dismounted
02-20-2009, 03:27 AM
Where did you "enable external JS"?

TheInsaneManiac
02-20-2009, 11:12 AM
External option in vbulletin admincp.

Dismounted
02-21-2009, 03:31 AM
That options lets the user fetch the YUI JS framework directly from the Yahoo servers, so post #3 applies.

vbplusme
02-21-2009, 04:08 AM
Now I am confused. Doesn't YUI JS have to do with loading or not Yahoo Libraries for using their javascript widgets? I didn't think that had anything to do with running custom javascript code?

Dismounted
02-21-2009, 05:12 AM
<a href="http://developer.yahoo.com/yui/" target="_blank">Yahoo! User Interface Library</a>

TheInsaneManiac
02-22-2009, 07:13 PM
Now I am confused. Doesn't YUI JS have to do with loading or not Yahoo Libraries for using their javascript widgets? I didn't think that had anything to do with running custom javascript code?

All I know is that this code wouldnt run unless I enabled it:
<script type="text/javascript" src="external.php?type=js"></script>
<script language="" type="text/javascript">
<!--
for (x = 0; x < 10; x++)
{
document.writeln("<a href=\"showthread.php?t="+threads[x].threadid+"\">"+threads[x].title+"</a>, ");
}
//-->
</script>

Dismounted
02-24-2009, 04:54 AM
Oh, that is different. You enabled External JS Syndication, not external YUI. Yes, you are correct, JS syndication will only work if the External.php options are enabled.

TheInsaneManiac
02-25-2009, 12:34 AM
Oh, that is different. You enabled External JS Syndication, not external YUI. Yes, you are correct, JS syndication will only work if the External.php options are enabled.
So my same question occurs. Does this increase server load at all? Also whats the difference between the two?

Dismounted
02-25-2009, 05:49 AM
No, it does not increase server load (it only affects if external.php can output things for JS syndication). The difference between YUI and JS syndication? YUI is the JS framework used by vBulletin, JS syndication is an external syndication feature of vBulletin.

TheInsaneManiac
02-25-2009, 10:23 PM
No, it does not increase server load (it only affects if external.php can output things for JS syndication). The difference between YUI and JS syndication? YUI is the JS framework used by vBulletin, JS syndication is an external syndication feature of vBulletin.
Is there any security risks with using the JS Syndication?

Dismounted
02-26-2009, 05:41 AM
No, there shouldn't be. It just allows other people to fetch posts from your site, much like RSS.

TheInsaneManiac
02-27-2009, 12:29 AM
So other websites can fetch my posts?

Dismounted
02-27-2009, 08:04 AM
They will see the same things as your RSS feed. There is practically no difference between the two (in the information it gives).

TheInsaneManiac
03-02-2009, 03:23 AM
They will see the same things as your RSS feed. There is practically no difference between the two (in the information it gives).
So then I shouldn't worry about server load or security issues?

Dismounted
03-02-2009, 04:58 AM
Yes