PDA

View Full Version : different ads in different subsections


colinizballin
02-15-2009, 12:43 AM
Is there a possibility where I can place ads in some subsections of my forum and different ads in different subsections? Hypothetically speaking if I was running a gaming forum and I wanted xbox ads in the xbox section and PS3 ads in the PS3 section. No I am not running a gaming forum but this is just an example. Thank you in advance to anybody who can help.

By the way, I have this mod https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?threadid=203948 is it possible to do it using this mod? or even without it?

Thank you.

Dismounted
02-15-2009, 02:58 AM
You can use template conditionals in your templates:
<if condition="$forum['forumid'] == X">AD CODE</if>

colinizballin
02-15-2009, 04:33 AM
where do you add it using the mod? any idea?

Few
02-15-2009, 05:31 PM
I am having a very similar issue, except I want to do it on all forums for a usergroup - if that is possible, that would be awesome - other thing is, where do we add the code you gave us?

Ted S
02-15-2009, 06:11 PM
The code would go into a few template depending on where you want the ads to show...

FORUMDISPLAY for a forum/ area
SHOWTHREAD for the thread
SHOWPOST for a single post view
postbit or postbit_legacy for post contents

--------------- Added 1234728769 at 1234728769 ---------------

To change ads by usergroup you would use the code:


<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 5,10,20)>
ads for groupds 5,10 and 20
<else />
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 40)>
ads for 40
</if>
</if>

colinizballin
02-15-2009, 10:11 PM
Sorry for my noobness with this stuff but where in the FORUMDISPLAY does the code go? Also, do you require the VB AD management mod for this to work?

Ted S
02-15-2009, 10:23 PM
It goes where you want it to go. If you want the ad at the top of the page it could under $navbar, if you want it at the end of the page it could go above $footer and on and on.

This is a conditional where you're manually placing code so no other addons or systems are needed.

Few
02-15-2009, 10:30 PM
The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:

The conditional on line 563 appears to be missing its beginning tag (<if>). This may cause unexpected behavior.


This is likely caused by a malformed conditional statement. It is highly recommended that you fix this error before continuing, but you may continue as-is if you wish.

That is the error I get when trying to add your code. When I try the one from dismounted - i enter the fourmid and then nothing shows up.

If I just bypass it, nothing shows up.

colinizballin
02-15-2009, 10:50 PM
My ads aren't showing up either, im putting them above $footer and nothing shows up.

Ted S
02-15-2009, 10:54 PM
Have you changed the forum id to your forum IDs properly? Are you editing the same page you're looking at?

Few
02-15-2009, 10:59 PM
What page should I be editing? The FORUMDISPLAY in the template?

--------------- Added 1234746303 at 1234746303 ---------------

<!-- / forum rules & forum jump -->

<if condition="$forum['24'] == X"><img src="http://x3o-gaming.com/themes/bluemarine/images/x3ologo.gif">
</if>


$footer

That is what we have it as, and it does not show.

colinizballin
02-15-2009, 11:26 PM
Have you changed the forum id to your forum IDs properly? Are you editing the same page you're looking at?

Yes, I believe all this is correct, I think I'm messing something up with the ad's code.

Is there something wrong with above user's post in the ad code?

Ted S
02-15-2009, 11:33 PM
Yes there is something wrong with it: X is not a forum id.


<if condition="$forum['forumid'] == 24">
<img src="http://x3o-gaming.com/themes/bluemarine/images/x3ologo.gif">
</if>


Would be the correct code to add to the FORUMDISPLAY template for forum 24.

Few
02-15-2009, 11:36 PM
Yes there is something wrong with it: X is not a forum id.


<if condition="$forum['forumid'] == 24">
<img src="http://x3o-gaming.com/themes/bluemarine/images/x3ologo.gif">
</if>


Would be the correct code to add to the FORUMDISPLAY template for forum 24.

I tried that exactly, and it did not work.

Ted S
02-15-2009, 11:36 PM
What page should I be editing? The FORUMDISPLAY in the template?


The code is wrong (see my previous post). As far as what page to edit again, that depends on what page you want the ads on. You need to edit the page you want it for... it's really just that simple. Forumdisplay displays forum contents, showthread the thread page, etc...

colinizballin
02-15-2009, 11:42 PM
I tried that exactly, and it did not work.

hmmmmmm

Ted S
02-15-2009, 11:43 PM
I tried that exactly, and it did not work.

It didn't work is a broad statement... Are you sure you're looking at the right page in the right area in the right forum?

Try removing the condition and just adding the banner code to see if that appears at all so you know if the ad is the issue or the conditional.

Few
02-16-2009, 12:21 AM
It didn't work is a broad statement... Are you sure you're looking at the right page in the right area in the right forum?

Try removing the condition and just adding the banner code to see if that appears at all so you know if the ad is the issue or the conditional.


When I just add it without the condition, on every threadsection it appears. So it is a problem with the condition somehow.

colinizballin
02-16-2009, 12:22 AM
When I just add it without the condition, on every threadsection it appears. So it is a problem with the condition somehow.

I found out the same thing.

Ted S
02-16-2009, 12:25 AM
Whoops.

For the FORUMDISPLAY template you'll need to use the variable $foruminfo[forumid] instead of $forum[forumid] (different pages store it in a different variable).

Few
02-16-2009, 12:55 AM
Whoops.

For the FORUMDISPLAY template you'll need to use the variable $foruminfo[forumid] instead of $forum[forumid] (different pages store it in a different variable).


It Works! Thank you for all of your help! You are THE MAN!

colinizballin
02-16-2009, 12:55 AM
Oh thank the lawd.

Many many thanks to you sir.

Digma
02-16-2009, 08:50 AM
Would this also be possible for specific threads? We have some long running betting threads and I would be interested in doing thread specific advertisement.