Log in

View Full Version : Condition based on how many posts in showthread?


punchbowl
01-30-2009, 06:03 PM
Ok detecting it's showthread is easy

<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread'">

but is there a way to tell how many posts are on the page?

e.g. If a thread has more than 10 posts would it be something like this?


<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread' AND $post['postcount']>10">do something</if>

or do I have to use this freaky bit of stuff below somehow if there?

$post['postcount'] % $vboptions['maxposts'] == x"

tia

Dismounted
01-31-2009, 02:32 AM
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread' AND $thread['replycount'] > 10">
If you're editing the showthread template, you don't need the first condition, it's a given that it is the showthread script.

punchbowl
01-31-2009, 11:17 AM
Fantastic thanks D! What I'm doing is adding another banner to the side column if there's a few replies to a thread so it's actually the header template that'll be edited. Lots of white space there at the moment.

Cheers

Dismounted
01-31-2009, 11:42 AM
You may actually have to use $foruminfo $threadinfo instead in the header template.

punchbowl
01-31-2009, 12:02 PM
Yeah it doesn't seem to work here's what I have:

<if condition="$show['guest']">
<table width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center">
<tr>

<td width="140" valign="top" class="page" style="padding: $stylevar[cellpadding]px;"><if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'forumdisplay' AND $show['guest']">
<div align="center">AD HERE</div><br />
</if>
<div align="center">AD HERE</div>
<if condition="$show['guest'] AND THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread' AND $thread['replycount'] > 5">this ad never shows</if>
<td valign="top">
</if>
<!-- content table -->

Another question are the $show['guest'] conditions in the second two conditions obsolete as they are wrapped in a $show['guest'] condition anyway?

I know I could be playing around with this but it's a live board and they'd go hysterical if I started playing around now.

Cheers

Dismounted
01-31-2009, 12:10 PM
Sorry, I actually meant $threadinfo instead of $thread. :p

punchbowl
01-31-2009, 12:13 PM
You could've said $mumbojumbo for all the use it's doing me lol

--------------- Added 1233449174 at 1233449174 ---------------

Ok after a lot of googling (your name came up a lot D!) and cross posting over at vb.com, it seems that unfortunately the "header template is parsed early in the page execution, before that information is available (http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=298474)"

Jake suggested coding something in php. Instead Im thinking of replacing the $header call in SHOWTHREAD with a custom template depending on how many posts on the page.

Something like:

<if condition="($post[postcount]-1) % $GLOBALS[perpage] == 0">
<if condition="($GLOBALS[totalposts] - $post[postcount]) > 5">$longheader
<else />$header
</if>
</if>

What do you think?! Madness? :D:erm:

Actually I've decided just to add another banner regardless of how many replies so I'm not going to bother with any of the above.

Thanks for the help - I learnt a bit anyway