View Full Version : vB navbar dropdown menu gets hidden behind embedded flash player on page
sparklywater
12-31-2008, 09:42 PM
I'm using vBulletin's navbar dropdown menu feature on my webpage.
Near the middle of the page there is an embedded flash audio player.
If you try to use the dropdown menus near the middle of the page, the dropdown list displays BEHIND my embedded flash player. The result is that the menu options are hidden behind the flash player and cannot be seen.
Is there any way to make the vB navbar menu have a higher order / priority on the page such that the menu will be displayed ABOVE all other elements on the page?
UKBusinessLive
12-31-2008, 10:24 PM
Not sure, but the easiest thing would be to move the embedded flash audio player??
Just a thought :confused:
ForumsMods
12-31-2008, 10:30 PM
This is caused by missing off the 'wmode' parameter to your flash movie embed/object tag.
Add the following to your <object> tag:
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
and the following to your <embed> tag:
wmode="transparent"
sparklywater
12-31-2008, 11:14 PM
This is caused by missing off the 'wmode' parameter to your flash movie embed/object tag.
Add the following to your <object> tag:
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
and the following to your <embed> tag:
wmode="transparent"
Thanks for your reply. I've just tried that and although the dropdown menu is now layered correctly on top, the transparent setting has distorted one of my flash movies which has a black background. It looks like the setting is trying to make the black background into a transparent layer.
Any other ideas?
sparklywater
01-02-2009, 03:13 AM
I have solved this problem by setting wmode to value "opaque" instead. For more info please see:
http://www.communitymx.com/content/article.cfm?cid=e5141
TimberFloorAu
01-02-2009, 06:18 PM
We had these issues, and I wish I had been able to resolve it as you, instead I used a ajax expanding drop down menu block to alleviate the problem.
Ste
sparklywater
01-02-2009, 10:01 PM
I've managed to use the wmode attribute for swf files embedded using <object> and <embed> tags, but I have some swf files embedded using the <iframe> attribute because those swf files only work in iframe due to filepath issues. Is there any way for me to set an equivalent 'wmode' value to an iframe?
Any help would be appreciated.
sparklywater
01-03-2009, 11:11 PM
We had these issues, and I wish I had been able to resolve it as you, instead I used a ajax expanding drop down menu block to alleviate the problem.
Ste
Can you please link me to that AJAX dropdown menu? It looks like I might have to look into alternatives.
Also, what's been your experience of using that dropdown menu? Is it any good?
Thanks.
TimberFloorAu
01-04-2009, 02:57 AM
Have you seen our drop down menu ?
Its cool and very popular.
Ste
we use DynamicDrives DDPANEL
http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/dddropdownpanel.htm
Devanand
05-26-2010, 01:33 PM
Thread is old but I didn't want to open another. I have same problem but my code is in SCRIPT and NOSCRIPT which I got from marketing company so I can't change it. How can I solve this problem?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.