PDA

View Full Version : Taking the Breadcrumb out of the the Navbar


ArgylePhoto
11-23-2008, 07:13 AM
Hi,

I want to have my breadcrumb in a separate template to my navbar. I've created the template and plugins (one at hook location cache_templates and one at hook location parse_templates) to make it show but the breadcrumb doesn't work, it only ever shows the forum name. From what I can tell the conditional "<if condition="is_array($navbits)">" in the breadcrumb template isn't being satisfied. How can I fix that? I tried searching but I can't find an answer. I want to use this template on all the pages that the breadcrumb would be shown on normally.

Thanks in advance. :)

Lynne
11-23-2008, 05:02 PM
You need to make sure the template you are using is evaled after $navbits is defined. So, you may have to pick a different hook location than parse_templates to eval your template.

ArgylePhoto
11-23-2008, 05:52 PM
Have you any idea what location? Navbits_complete seems the obviuos choice but doesn't seem to work. I'm not really sure where the hook locations are exactly

--------------- Added 1227471136 at 1227471136 ---------------

Incidentally I'm using

eval('$breadcrumb = "' . fetch_template('breadcrumb') . '";');

to evaluate the tenplate. Is that right or should I change it?

Lynne
11-23-2008, 06:44 PM
I've never played with this, so I can't give a define solution. Your eval looks correct, but why aren't you just putting in $navbits where you want instead of evaling a template and putting in $breadcrumb?

ArgylePhoto
11-23-2008, 07:09 PM
I'm not sure what you mean? If I put $navbits in a template it just prints the word 'array'. My $breadcrumb template looks like

<table align="center" bgcolor="#ccccff" width="840px" cellpadding="25px" cellspacing="0"><tr><td bgcolor="#ffffff" width="100%" valign="top" height="60px">
<if condition="is_array($navbits)">
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr valign="bottom">
<td><a href="#" onclick="history.back(1); return false;"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_start.gif" alt="$vbphrase[go_back]" border="0" /></a></td>
<td>&nbsp;</td>
<td width="100%"><span class="navbar"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="1">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></span> $navbits[breadcrumb]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="navbar" style="font-size:10pt; padding-top:1px" colspan="3"><if condition="$_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD'] == 'POST'"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_finallink_$stylevar[textdirection].gif" alt="" border="0" /><else /><a href="$navbar_reloadurl"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_finallink_$stylevar[textdirection].gif" alt="$vbphrase[reload_this_page]" border="0" /></a></if> <strong>$navbits[lastelement]</strong></td>
</tr>
</table>
<else />
<div class="navbar" style="font-size:10pt"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="1"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_start.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a> <strong>$vboptions[bbtitle]</strong></div>
</if>
</td>
</tr>
</table>


dunno if that matters. It's always used below the navbar template with another custom template between them.

Lynne
11-23-2008, 08:02 PM
I'm just thinking that you are evaling it at the wrong time and I'm not sure what to suggest regarding that. For instance, I happen to have member.php opened and the $navbar array isn't contructed until the very bottom of that page. Therefore, if you pick any hook location that gets evaled *before* that point, you aren't going to get it evaled correctly. The only hook location after that is member_complete. But, that isn't available on every page. So, I'm not sure how you are supposed to go about this without having several plugins that eval your template all for different pages.