View Full Version : <textarea> proprietary attribute
veenuisthebest
10-02-2008, 01:24 AM
hii..
Here's a simple HTML code for textarea. I am using MaxChars attribute which is used further in some Javascript. But it is proprietary thus it gives 1 XHTML validation error.
<textarea MaxChars="1000" name="description" id="description" rows="6" cols="50">Testing</textarea>
Note:- It works perfect. All I want to know is how to replace MaxChars with its equivalent that is XHTML valid.
veenuisthebest
10-03-2008, 02:06 AM
anyone ??
MoT3rror
10-04-2008, 09:36 PM
You can use the setattribute (http://www.w3schools.com/Dom/met_element_setattribute.asp) function to set it before your javascript code.
element.setAttribute('MaxChars', 1000);
veenuisthebest
10-04-2008, 11:08 PM
thanks for replying but i'm not sure how to make it work !
see this is my actual textarea:-
<!-- Text Area -->
<textarea MaxChars="1000" name="description" id="description" rows="6" cols="50" style="width:540px" onkeypress="if (this.value.length >= parseInt(this.attributes['MaxChars'].value)) return false;" onkeyup=" document.getElementById( this.id+'_charsCount' ).innerHTML = (parseInt(this.attributes['MaxChars'].value)-parseInt(this.value.length));"></textarea>
<!-- Text Area -->
As you can see all my JS is within onkeypress and onkeyup attribute of textarea. Now how do I use setattribute for MaxChars ?
Thank you
Dismounted
10-05-2008, 04:27 AM
Can't you not use a maxchars attribute, but instead, but the number directly into the function for comparison? Or maybe even store it in a JS variable?
veenuisthebest
10-05-2008, 05:18 AM
oh great ! Thank you so much, I directly used the number and it worked perfect.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.