View Full Version : Addling link to navbar
Hosford
08-15-2008, 04:46 PM
How do i add a link to the navbar with out effecting my navbar skin? I want to add a forum link to the navbar, but i dont know how to keep the same design as i currently have. url (www.racersweb.com)
Twilkey
08-15-2008, 07:07 PM
What is the code in your navbar?
Lynne
08-15-2008, 07:22 PM
You might want to check out the Articles forum here. How To Add Additional Links To Your Navbar (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=118924&highlight=navbar)
Hosford
08-15-2008, 08:41 PM
here is the coding
<div id="navigation">
<ul>
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/index.php">Home</a></li>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/forums/usercp.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[user_cp]</a></li>
</if>
<if condition="$show['registerbutton']">
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/forums/register.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[register]</a></li>
</if>
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/forums/faq.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="5">$vbphrase[faq]</a></li>
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/forums/memberlist.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[members_list]</a></li>
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/forums/calendar.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[calendar]</a></li>
<if condition="$show['popups']">
<if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
<if condition="$show['member']">
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/forums/search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></li>
<else />
SEOvB
08-15-2008, 08:42 PM
<div id="navigation">
<ul>
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/index.php">Home</a></li>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/forums/usercp.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[user_cp]</a></li>
</if>
<if condition="$show['registerbutton']">
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/forums/register.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[register]</a></li>
</if>
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/forums/faq.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="5">$vbphrase[faq]</a></li>
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/forums/memberlist.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[members_list]</a></li>
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/forums/calendar.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[calendar]</a></li>
<LI><A HREF="HTTP://SOMECOOLSITE.COM/">SOME COOL WORDS</A></LI><if condition="$show['popups']">
<if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
<if condition="$show['member']">
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/forums/search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></li>
<else />
take the CAPS LOCK bold red part from above and just replace the SOMECOOLSITE and SOME COOL WORDS parts to what you need.
AmandaB
08-15-2008, 08:49 PM
Good advise. You coding is rather simple so it should be hard to mess up.
Have fun.
Opserty
08-15-2008, 09:01 PM
Use your common sense, surely you notice a pattern between these?
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/forums/faq.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="5">$vbphrase[faq]</a></li>
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/forums/memberlist.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[members_list]</a></li>
<li><a href="http://racersweb.com/forums/calendar.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[calendar]</a></li>
You should take a quick dive in w3schools.com's HTML section so at least you have some idea what you are looking at when it comes to editing templates.
Its always best to try and figure things out yourself before you ask. At least you will learn better that way. ;)
Hosford
08-16-2008, 01:12 AM
Opserty, Yes i did notice the pattern. What happens is when i edit the html and add the text that should make the button it doesnt. It does 1 of 2 things one it gives me a button that doesnt look like my current buttons, or i get an <if> error. I wouldnt ask a question that i could answer my self.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.