PDA

View Full Version : Reputation bit above showthread template


1uxkz
08-06-2008, 07:58 PM
Hello, I have recently try'd to add the reputation bit above the showthread template but every time I click "Add to Reputation" I get the following error message "You did not select any posts to which the action you picked can be applied." - I don't know if this is because I'm adding the coding in the right place or not, or if its the wrong coding or adding it to the wrong template. any and all help would be greatly appreciated

This is the code I put it under

$poll

This is the code I have added in the showthread template below $poll


<tr>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[add_to_reputation]: <span style="font-weight:normal">$userinfo[username]</span></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="panelsurround" align="center">
<div class="panel">
<div <if condition="!$show['ajax']">style="width:$stylevar[formwidth]"</if> align="$stylevar[left]">

<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend><phrase 1="$userinfo[username]">What did you think of this post?</phrase></legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0">
<tr>
<td>
<div><label for="rb_reputation_pos_$postid"><input type="radio" name="reputation" value="pos" id="rb_reputation_pos_$postid" checked="checked" />Give Em Props</label></div>
<div><label for="rb_reputation_neg_$postid"><input type="radio" name="reputation" value="neg" id="rb_reputation_neg_$postid" />Give Em Hate</label></div>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>
$vbphrase[your_comments_on_this_post]:<br />
<input type="text" class="bginput" size="40" maxlength="250" name="reason" id="reason_$postid"/>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</fieldset>

</div>
</div>

<div style="margin-top:$stylevar[cellpadding]px">
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="addreputation" />
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" />
<input type="hidden" name="p" value="$postid" />
<input type="hidden" name="url" value="$url" />
<input type="submit" name="reputationsubmit" class="button" value="Add to Reputation" accesskey="s" />
</div>
</td>
</tr>



example of it : http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/9839/repexampleya7.png

1uxkz
08-08-2008, 02:43 PM
anything?

Lynne
08-08-2008, 03:13 PM
Reputation goes to the posts, not the thread.

Why are you adding it? Isn't it there already? (You are talking about the default reputation in vb, right?)

1uxkz
08-08-2008, 04:02 PM
Yes I'm talking about the default VB rep system, I would just like it out more in the open, so it actually get's used, plan on removing it from the postbit after put above post

What template would this code go in if it dont go in the showthread template?

Thanks for replying @ lynne

Lynne
08-08-2008, 04:42 PM
I'm not sure exactly what you are trying to do (only allow users to give reputation to the first post of the thread?), but have you considered just installing a modification that already exists? I see several by searching for "reputation" "all mods" "titles only".

1uxkz
08-08-2008, 04:53 PM
yes only allow rep to be givin to the first poster aka thread starter and I'll check the mods right know see any of them can help me

thanks lynne, please check back as I may need more help

--------------- Added 1218218613 at 1218218613 ---------------

after checking the forum for mods that would help me I couldn't find any, but yes what I am trying to do is place the reputation bit above the first post, and make it so the "thread starter" can get props - and only him, the rest of the ppl can be rep-ed in there postbit - I have only found 1 vb forum with this, and it has increased there rep use by over 100% - and think it would be effective on my board also

rep above the forum example and in use : http://slumz.boxden.com/showthread.php?t=1130836


hope it's alright to post a diff site here, if not let me know I'll remove it

students_forum
09-04-2008, 03:51 AM
Reputation goes to the posts, not the thread.

Why are you adding it? Isn't it there already? (You are talking about the default reputation in vb, right?)
on the somewhat related subject, is it possible to remove the AJAX feature from the reputation giving feature?

1uxkz
05-17-2009, 06:08 PM
anything?

Lynne
05-17-2009, 08:07 PM
If you can't/won't be writing this yourself, then you may want to post in the Modification Requests (Unpaid) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=112) or Requests For Paid Services (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=30) forum. If you do decide to write this yourself and you get stuck, feel free to post your code and ask for help (please make sure to use the php/html tags around your code).