PDA

View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - Steam freinds status in postbit


CampinCarl
07-16-2008, 10:00 PM
Well, I'm a newb when it comes to coding and such, but this was a relatively simple mod to whip up. What it does is displays your steam friends status in the postbit
Screen shot
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2008/07/6.png
DEMO: (NOTE I use the legacy postbit customized to fit my needs, but this is still a good demo for you guys ;D) http://forum.usgcommunity.com/showthread.php?p=313

Installation:
I'm not experienced enough to create and xml file for simple install, but installation is very simple anyway ;D

Step #1 Creating the steam id profile field
Go to admin control panel> User profile fields> Add new user profile field
Create a Single line text box
Title: STEAM ID
Description: Enter your Steam Id here (alter this to w/e you want ;D)
You don't need to change anything else, unless you deem it necessary
IMPORTANT!!!!: if this is the first custom field you have entered, the value will be field5, if however it is not, you need to go to admin control panel> User profile fields> user profile field manager and write down the field number (ie: field6, field7, etc)
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2008/07/7.png

Step #2 Editing the postbit
Navigate to Styles & templates > style manager> your style> edit templates> postbit templates> postbit and double click on it.

Find
<if condition="$post['usertitle']"><div class="smallfont">$post[usertitle]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['rank']"><div class="smallfont">$post[rank]</div></if>
$template_hook[postbit_userinfo_left]

</td>
<td width="100%">
and after add
<if condition="$post['field5']"><iframe src="http://steam.appspot.com/beta/api/iframe?steamID=$post[field5]" width="250" height="60" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" frameborder="0"></iframe></if>

NOTE: remember that field you wrote down from the end of step one? if it says anything other then field5, change the above code to $post['your field here'] and $post[your field here]

once youve edited the template accordingly, hit save and enter your STEAM ID in the profile field, and check out your postbit! your should look alot like the screenshot above!

Credits:
Kost: This guy did pretty much everything! he is the creater of http://steam.appspot.com/ (the site that the iframe came from)
View his site @ http://www.steamfortress.com/

Additional notes:
If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know!
If you use it, please click install :D
I have been asked by some people to remove the brand at the top saying something like "steamfreinds2web beta by KoST", however, I am unable to do that, and you must contact KoST and possibly pay him a small fee to do so
http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561197960465058

rooban12
07-17-2008, 08:10 PM
good hack
thanks

carlos54321
07-18-2008, 03:45 PM
Not working wont show up when i make a post :(
I can enter my steam id in profile,and save it i have done the edits in postbit 3 times i only have one style so i have no issue picking the wrong one but still no go.

CampinCarl
07-18-2008, 05:50 PM
whats your steam id, ill test it on mine
and also, do you have any custom fields already?
just tryin to address every possible problem ;)

Cobro
07-18-2008, 08:02 PM
Cool thank you man this is very nice !!

semka
07-18-2008, 09:50 PM
very good! work fine

carlos54321
07-21-2008, 06:30 AM
:) I did get it installed thankyou but uninstalled it as it had by Kost and Steamfriends2web beta written ubove the box.
http://steam.appspot.com/static/online.png
As i do some how agree the makers name has every right to be there i dont think the rest ie Steamfriends2web beta needs to be with this gone i would probably install and use,

But thanks for for posting it:)

niake
07-25-2008, 08:21 AM
If you have a steam id like STEAM_0:1:00000 it is not working

D0n_V170
07-31-2008, 11:08 PM
Yes certain steamIDs don't seem to work with it.

KHALIK
08-01-2008, 12:12 AM
uninstalled

P.Jackson
08-03-2008, 08:31 AM
Yea mines

STEAM_0:1:2xxx

And its ot working :(

If you have a steam id like STEAM_0:1:00000 it is not working

tbrown7552
03-28-2009, 03:54 AM
im getting the same as the others. Any 0:1 is showing Invalid Steam ID. uninstalled.

Fastbird
05-27-2009, 02:25 AM
Works for me! I installed almost a year ago and has been working flawlessly ever since.

lm3a.net
05-27-2009, 07:09 AM
thanks,,,

Bommando
07-26-2009, 03:07 PM
This is neat. Used it to display status for members at Focused Gaming (http://www.focusedgaming.com):

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/07/7.png

The size is just a little too large for my liking, so I'm going to play around with the API myself to see if I can generate a smaller status image.

Installed :)

Bommando
08-03-2009, 02:43 AM
Looks like the app engine is over quota :(

Hdeaf.com
01-16-2011, 09:12 AM
Nice!
Thanks