View Full Version : php calling for use in pages
I am wanting to take the username, and if it has a space in it replace it with an _
I am not up with programming, so am trying to figure it out. I got this far.
<$irc_user = str_replace(' ', '_', $bbuserinfo[username]);>
Am i heading totally down the wrong track? Can i use this straight in the template? I don't know what to search for to help me, i am a complete noob at this.
Thank you for any help in advance.
Ideal Web Tech
07-12-2008, 03:49 AM
You cant use php in the templates. You will need to make a plugin for the global_start hook that contains the following code (the plugin could change if you only need it in a specific area, this would make it available globally).
<?php $irc_user = str_replace(' ', '_', $vbulletin->userinfo['username']); ?>
Is it a problem to have it available globally? Ie does it slow anything down or affect anything?
I need it available for forumhome template and also a custom template page.
--------------- Added 1215854750 at 1215854750 ---------------
You cant use php in the templates. You will need to make a plugin for the global_start hook that contains the following code
I have searched for a template called global_start... and there isn't one, so can you please point me in the direction of how i can create this hook? Sorry, this is my first time trying to do something like this.
--------------- Added 1215855674 at 1215855674 ---------------
Ok i added a hook sorry i have read up about it) but that doesn't doesn't work, either for people with spaces or without.
Opserty
07-12-2008, 09:22 AM
Don't add the opening and closing PHP tags.
AdminCP > Plugins & Products > Add New Plugin
Hook Location: global_start
PHP Code: $irc_user = str_replace(' ', '_', $vbulletin->userinfo['username']);
Thank you so much :) I hadn't realised that! It works perfectly.
Again, thank you very much :)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.