PDA

View Full Version : Integrate vbulletin with website


paperboy741258
07-10-2008, 04:11 PM
I am trying to create a custom cms system similar to phpnuke or vbadvanced for my website. I am trying to get vbulletin to include in the middle of the site with a php include.

When I do the following, the include works just fine

test.php
<?PHP
include ('modules/forum/index.php');

however, I dont want to use test.php I would like to have the url be something similar to index.php?modules=forum. When I use the same code with the differant url I get the following error.

Fatal error: Call to a member function query_first_slave() on a non-object in [some path removed]Public_html\modules\forum\includes\functions.php on line 1270

Any Suggestions?

paperboy741258
07-10-2008, 08:05 PM
I am trying to create a custom cms system similar to phpnuke or vbadvanced for my website. I am trying to get vbulletin to include in the middle of the site with a php include.

When I do the following, the include works just fine

test.php
<?PHP
chdir('[forum directory]');
include ('index.php');?>however, I don't want to use test.php I would like to have the url be something similar to index.php?modules=forum. When I use the same code with the different url I get the following error.

Fatal error: Call to a member function query_first_slave() on a non-object in [some path removed]Public_html\modules\forum\includes\functions.php on line 1270

Any Suggestions?

Opserty
07-10-2008, 08:20 PM
Not really quite sure but read this: [How-To] vBulletin API Basics: Creating Custom Pages & Misc. (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=98009&highlight=Basics)

Specifically there is a section titled "Creating Subpages" which you may find useful.

paperboy741258
07-10-2008, 08:45 PM
not quite what i was looking for

Dismounted
07-11-2008, 04:59 AM
Have a look at this article (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=62164).

EDIT: I've merged your threads, BTW.

ArbuZz
07-11-2008, 09:51 AM
This error:

Fatal error: Call to a member function query_first_slave() on a non-object in [some path removed]Public_html\modules\forum\includes\functions.php on line 1270

has something with the global $db object. Probably you have one defined somewhere globally, and vBulletin uses another global $db of it's own. So that the overlap and conflict. You can try to rename your $db object to $db2 for example and try again. I wanted to try, but had no spare time to do this. So I cann't say for sure whether it will work or no. Also, vBulletin uses a lot of other global variables that may mess up with your own ones. There are guys that recommend to place vBulletin installation in different location and interact with it through the cURL, to totally isolate the namespaces. By now I think similarly.

paperboy741258
07-11-2008, 08:52 PM
ok update
The following works

if ($_GET["module"] == "forum") {
chdir('/Public_html/modules/forum');
include "/Public_html/modules/forum/index.php";
}

The next piece of code does not
function somethingoranother() {
chdir('/Public_html/modules/forum');
include "/Public_html/modules/forum/index.php";
}
somethingoranother();

It seems to be the fact that I am including it from a function. I would like to get it to work from within a function and don't really know what the problem could be.

Dismounted
07-12-2008, 05:47 AM
Things called in a function will remain in the local (function) scope.

paperboy741258
07-14-2008, 09:17 PM
so that means that there is no way for me to include vbulletin from within a function? Sorry to play ignorant but as you can probably tell I am still working on learning PHP.

Dismounted
07-15-2008, 09:20 AM
Basically, yes.

liquidx
10-26-2008, 02:42 AM
Sorry to necro this thread but I am having a similar issue.
I have been integrating vBulletin in a home-brew CMS for a long time now, and have been forced to work around the variable scope that causes the above vbulletin woes.

Is there ANY way around this, so that I can include vBulletin inside a method?

PLEASE?

Dismounted
10-26-2008, 03:28 AM
You could rewrite init.php and global.php - but that would be a pain in the ass and you would have to also rewrite every single other file to change the reference of $vbulletin (and many other things.