Log in

View Full Version : Linkable Custom Profile Fields


GameWizard
04-29-2008, 11:49 AM
I have a custom profile field appearing in a custom template as $userinfo[field32], I want the output to be linkable. However the content is a list of items seperated by commas.

Basically I am looking to do something similar to this hack here, but for VBulletin 3.7 and applied to a custom template with custom profile fields:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=148705

So i'd like each item seperately linkable to the memberlist search. Here is the code I have which doesn't seem to be working:

if ($userinfo['field32'] != '')
{
$links = explode ("\n", $userinfo['field32']);
$output = array();
foreach ($links as $link)
{
$link = trim($link);
if (!empty($link))
{
$ouput[] = '<a href="' . $link . '">' . $link . '</a>';
}
}
$userinfo['field32'] = implode('<br />', $output);
}Also, if made functional. How would I make it work for more than 1 profile field? An Array I presume?

Taragon
04-29-2008, 08:43 PM
I'm afraid I can't give you an exact answer, because I've got a similar question as yours.
However, this is working:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=161271

GameWizard
04-29-2008, 09:04 PM
Thanks for your reply! I wasn't aware of your thread and I've done some pretty extensive searching. Well for some odd reason it simply doesn't react at all? I must be doing something wrong, and I'm sure it's something simple. And I did correct the typo in the code as well.

The content I would like to be linked is inside a custom template which is displayed on my profile page through this code:
$userinfo[field13]


Here is my plugin:
Name: Linkable Custom Profile Fields
Location: Member_complete (also tried member_start)
Execution Order: 1

if ($profilefield['value'] != '' AND $profilefield[profilefieldid] == 13)
{
$links = explode ("\n", $profilefield['value']);
$output = array();
foreach ($links as $link)
{
$link = trim($link);
if (!empty($link))
{
$output[] = '<a href="' . $link . '">' . $link . '</a>';
}
}
$profilefield['value'] = implode('<br />', $output);
}
Any help would be appreciated.

Taragon
04-29-2008, 09:23 PM
The content I would like to be linked is inside a custom template which is displayed on my profile page through this code:
$userinfo[field13]

I'm afraid this was my question aswell, and I can't help you with that :(

GameWizard
04-29-2008, 10:52 PM
I played around with the code and managed to get this to actually work:

if ($userinfo[field13] != '')
{
$links = explode (",", $userinfo[field13]);
$output = array();
foreach ($links as $link)
{
$link = trim($link);
if (!empty($link))
{
$output[] = '<a href="' . $link . '">' . $link . '</a>';
}
}
$userinfo[field13] = implode(', ', $output);
} The user inputed "English, French, Russian" and it shows up as "English (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/#), French (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/#), Russian (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/#)" as separate links which is what I want.

HOWEVER, it does not obviously link to the proper area inside my memberlist.php file which is what I need. It just links to mydomain.com/English.

Here is the code from another hack which seems should work, but I don't know how to adapt it to work with my current code:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=1462022 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=1462022#post1462022)
if ($profilefield['value'] != '')
{
$linkedfields = explode("|", $vbulletin->options['profilefieldtagslist']);

if (in_array($profilefield['profilefieldid'], $linkedfields))
{
if ($profilefield['type'] == 'input' OR $profilefield['type'] == 'textarea')
{
$fieldvalues = explode(",", $profilefield['value']);
$profilefield['value'] = '';

foreach ($fieldvalues as $fieldvalue)
{
$profilefield['value'].= '<a href="' .$vbulletin->options['bburl']. '/memberlist.php?' .$vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl']. 'do=getall&amp;field' .$profilefield[profilefieldid]. '=' .trim($fieldvalue). '">' .$fieldvalue. '</a>, ';
}

$profilefield['value']= substr_replace($profilefield['value'],'',-2);
$userinfo['field' . $profilefield[profilefieldid]] = $profilefield['value'];
}Based on this I just need the linkable part incorporated into the code, but he uses things such as $fieldvalues which I am unsure of how to incorporate. Any help would be appreciated!

==========UPDATE=============

I managed to get it working perfectly! :D

if ($userinfo[field13] != '')
{
$links = explode (",", $userinfo[field13]);
$output = array();
foreach ($links as $link)
{
$link = trim($link);
if (!empty($link))
{
$output[] = '<a href="' .$vbulletin->options['bburl']. '/memberlist.php?' .$vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl']. 'do=getall&amp;field13=' .trim($link). '">' . $link . '</a>';
}
}
$userinfo[field13] = implode(', ', $output);
}Took me some time, but i figured out how to transfer the code over. I had to hard code the Field ID though, so right now I'm in the process of looking up how to setup a proper PHP Array to allow for multiple profile fields to work.

Taragon
04-30-2008, 10:21 AM
Thanks GameWizard, you're amazing!
I've never thought about giving it the member_complete location before.

GameWizard
04-30-2008, 12:33 PM
What I've found is that the code works great for any Single-Line and Multi-Line text box. However, I've had trouble converting the code for Multiple/Single menu. It keeps outputting errors which either means that the code is wrong, or the way I'm converting it is incorrect. In any case, I will post the code below in case someone with a more skilled php brain is willing to help:

Here is my functional code once again which applies to Single-Line and Multi-Line text box:
if ($userinfo[field12] != '')
{
$links = explode (",", $userinfo[field12]);
$output = array();
foreach ($links as $link)
{
$link = trim($link);
if (!empty($link))
{
$output[] = '<a href="' .$vbulletin->options['bburl']. '/memberlist.php?' .$vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl']. 'do=getall&amp;field12=' .trim($link). '">' . $link . '</a>';
}
}
$userinfo[field12] = implode(', ', $output);
}


Here is the code included that I need converted into a similar format as above:
$data = unserialize($profilefield['data']);
$fieldvalues = explode(",", $profilefield['value']);
$profilefield['value'] = '';

foreach ($data as $key => $value)
{
$key++;
foreach ($fieldvalues as $key2 => $value2)
{
if (trim($value) == trim($value2))
{
$profilefield['value'] .= '<a href="' .$vbulletin->options['bburl']. '/memberlist.php?' .$vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl']. 'do=getall&amp;field' .$profilefield[profilefieldid]. '=' .$key. '">' .$value2. '</a>, ';
}
}
}

$profilefield['value']= substr_replace($profilefield['value'],'',-2);
$userinfo['field' . $profilefield[profilefieldid]] = $profilefield['value'];