PDA

View Full Version : Line Break not showing in custom field


GameWizard
04-28-2008, 12:50 PM
I have a custom template with the code below displaying a users field. It is a multi-line text field. Even though I include line breaks, it does not parse them.
$userinfo[field31]

I am wondering what I need to do in order for the line breaks to be parsed, as when I include it in the stock tabs, like "about me" it actually shows up parsed. But when you manually request it like I am doing, it does not show up properly.

Opserty
04-28-2008, 03:49 PM
You'd need to either pass it through the BBCode Parser or run it through nl2br() (http://php.net/nl2br), in an appropriate plugin.

Boofo
04-28-2008, 04:04 PM
I understand how to use nl2br, but how would you use the BBCode Parser for the following code instead of nl2br?

$thequote = nl2br("\n" . $quote[quote] . "\n\n");
$thequoter = nl2br("-- " . $quote[name] . "\n\n");

Opserty
04-28-2008, 04:09 PM
@ Boofo: In general... Parse BBCode (in 3.5) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=82693)

See the $do_nl2br variable.

(Not sure how your specific example differs.)

Boofo
04-28-2008, 04:16 PM
OK, thanks for that. Since the code I needed it for was only 2 lines, I decided to go the nl2br route instead of the BBCode Parser. Originally, I used <br /> tags in the template but didn't like the way it looked.

GameWizard
04-28-2008, 10:53 PM
Please bare with me, as I'm slightly confused on how to implement the code.

I used the following tutorial to create a new template called memberinfo_userdetails:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=119933&highlight=plugin

The contents of this template are numerous custom user fields, including $userinfo[field31] which is the one I need parsed.

I have 2 plugins:
Cached - memberinfo_userdetails
$globaltemplates = array_merge($globaltemplates, array('memberinfo_userdetails'));


memberinfo_userdetails
eval('$memberinfo_userdetails = "' . fetch_template('memberinfo_userdetails') . '";');

What do I need to place and where?

--------------- Added 1209429644 at 1209429644 ---------------

====UPDATE====
I used your file Boofo:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=834376&postcount=31

It does parse the line breaks correctly, however it does not parse the quotes, it simply shows &quot; instead.

Boofo
04-29-2008, 12:18 AM
I will look at it and see if I can't update it.

GameWizard
04-29-2008, 08:48 AM
I've tried a few things such as Replacement Variables, but they have no effect.

I've tried some php code, here is what seems to be valid, but takes no effect either:
require_once(DIR . '/includes/class_bbcode.php');
$parser =& new vB_BbCodeParser($vbulletin, fetch_tag_list());
$parsed_text = $parser->do_parse($text, $do_html, $do_smilies, $do_bbcode, $do_imgcode, $do_nl2br, $cachable);

$parsed_text = preg_replace('/&quot;/', '"', $parsed_text);
$parsed_text = strtr($parsed_text, array('&quot;' => '"'));
$parsed_text = str_replace('&quot;', '"', $parsed_text);
$parsed_text = htmlspecialchars($parsed_text);--------------- Added 29 Apr 2008 at 02:59 ---------------

===UDATE===

I feel like an idiot... It works fine now. I had the same profile field parsed twice. And it parsed the first one without any HTML and so forth, rather than the second one asking to be parsed correctly.

In any case, all is well.

Boofo
04-29-2008, 09:08 AM
Can you post the exact code you got to work? And did you add it to my product?

GameWizard
04-29-2008, 11:39 AM
Here is all the information that you need: (most if is based on your plugin already)

I have a custom template which appears in inside my profile page, which includes the following code:
$userinfo[field20] and $userinfo[field31] (and a few others, but for the sake of the example I will include these two)

Plugin Name: Init BBCode-Parser
Location: member_start
require_once(DIR . '/includes/class_bbcode.php');
$parser =& new vB_BbCodeParser($vbulletin, fetch_tag_list());Plugin Name: Parse BBCode in custom profile fields
Location: member_complete
$userinfo['field20'] = $parser->do_parse($userinfo['field20'], 1, 0, 1, 0, 1, 0);
$userinfo['field31'] = $parser->do_parse($userinfo['field31'], 1, 0, 1, 0, 1, 0); Here I have all the custom profile fields I want parsed. I can add as many as I want.

The numbers refer to different things, here they are in order:
$do_html, $do_smilies, $do_bbcode, $do_imgcode, $do_nl2br, $cachable

tinycg
02-08-2009, 02:58 AM
I've tried to set this up with 3.8 in a member's postbit.. I think my hook locations are right, and I was using $post rather that $userinfo but whenever I try to do it, vB returns a blank white page which would seem to me that the hook location maybe isnt right or something in 3.8 changed?

When I disable the call to the field parse, things work again.

Can anyone offer any advice as to the best way to get a profile field to parse html? Its a hidden field only editable by admins, so I'm not to concerned about a security hole.

Dismounted
02-09-2009, 05:12 AM
What hook locations are you using, and what code are you using?