Log in

View Full Version : vB PHP Counter Script - almost ready


Thomas P
04-04-2008, 03:32 PM
Hello,

I use the following script to show a counter in FORUMHOME or wherever I want:

// ### Counter Hack by J. Schmidt #################################
$cquery = "SELECT A.title, A.data FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."datastore AS A WHERE title = 'total_hits' OR title = 'daily_hits'";
$counter = $db->query_read($cquery);
while ($res = $db->fetch_array($counter)) {
if($res['title'] == "total_hits") {
$total_hits = $res['data'];
} else if($res['title'] == "daily_hits") {
$daily_hits = $res['data'];
}
}
$cquery = "UPDATE ".TABLE_PREFIX."datastore SET data = '".++$total_hits."' WHERE title = 'total_hits'";
$counter = $db->query_write($cquery);
$cquery = "UPDATE ".TABLE_PREFIX."datastore SET data = '".++$daily_hits."' WHERE title = 'daily_hits'";
$counter = $db->query_write($cquery);
// ### Counter Hack END #################################################


Now I just insert $daily_hits into forumhome and I am all set.

Just one thing: The numbers are shown like this: 21458754 without a "." to mark a thousand - how can I change this? :(

Thanks,
-Tom

Opserty
04-04-2008, 05:20 PM
$daily_hits = vb_number_format (http://members.vbulletin.com/api/vBulletin/_includes_functions_php.html#functionvb_number_for mat)($daily_hits); should do the trick. ;)

Thomas P
04-04-2008, 07:50 PM
Hmm, now it get's reset when it reaches 1000 :confused:

The data is stored in the datastore table, which is of type 'mediumtext', if this is any help...

Opserty
04-04-2008, 08:19 PM
It only reaches a maximum of 1000 in your datastore table?

Thomas P
04-04-2008, 08:58 PM
Only if I place the a.m. code
$daily_hits = vb_number_format($daily_hits);

Opserty
04-04-2008, 09:08 PM
Are you placing that code before or after your update queries?

Thomas P
04-04-2008, 09:17 PM
Ah - I see what you mean.

Now I placed the line at the very end and it works like a charm.

Good one - many thanks, that's great :)