Log in

View Full Version : Tried and failed adding php code to a custom page.


vietfancy
03-26-2008, 07:35 PM
I tried and failed to add some php code to a custom page.

Would anyone help? is there a better way to do this?

here is what i wanna add to a custom page:


<?php include("scripts/database.php"); ?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">


<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />

<title></title>
<style>

</style>
</head>




<body>
<?php
if ($_REQUEST['success'] == "added"){
echo "<h1>news added, waiting on Admin approval</h1>";
}
?>
<a href="addnews.php">Add news</a><br />
<a href="admin/news.php">Admin<a/><br /><br /><br /><br />



<?php
//to dsiplay the news
$q = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM news WHERE live = 1")or die(mysql_error());
$c = mysql_num_rows($q);

if ($c == 0){
echo "no newss in database";
}else{
$tC = rand(0, $c-1);

mysql_data_seek($q, $tC);
$r = mysql_fetch_assoc($q);
$id = $r['id'];
$originalString = "<b>".$r['word']."</b><br />";
$upperCase = strtoupper($originalString);
echo "$upperCase";


list($c1, $c2, $c3, $c4, $c5) = unserialize($r['clues']);
$originalString = $c1."<br />".$c2."<br />".$c3."<br />".$c4."<br />".$c5."<br />";
$upperCase = strtoupper($originalString);
echo "$upperCase";

}
?>
<br /><br />
<?php
echo "We currently have $c cards in the database\n";
?>

<br /><br /><br />
<form action="scripts/rate.php" method="POST">
<input type="radio" name="rating" value="1" checked /> 1
<input type="radio" name="rating" value="2" /> 2
<input type="radio" name="rating" value="3" /> 3
<input type="radio" name="rating" value="4" /> 4
<input type="radio" name="rating" value="5" /> 5
<input type="hidden" value="<?=$id; ?>" name="id" />
<input type="submit" name="submit" value="Rate Me" />
</form>
<br /><br /><br />
<?php
$qRate = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM rating WHERE newsId = $id")or die(mysql_error());
$cRate = mysql_num_rows($qRate);
$total = 0;
if ($cRate == 0){
echo "this card has not been rated yet";
}else{
while ($rRate = mysql_fetch_assoc($qRate)){
$total += $rRate['rating'];
}
$total = $total/$cRate;

echo "Score is ".round($total, 2)." from $cRate votes";
}
?>
<br /><br />


</body>
</html>

GameWizard
03-26-2008, 08:07 PM
Refer to this thread:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=174159

vietfancy
03-26-2008, 09:53 PM
I saw that thread, and copied most from it lolz... still couldn't do it. How stupid me with coding...

Dismounted
03-27-2008, 01:27 AM
Are you trying to create a vBulletin custom page? Or is this just a page with no connetion with vBulletin?

vietfancy
03-27-2008, 04:31 AM
Yes, I'm trying to create a vbulletin custom page.

Thanks for replying.

Boofo
03-27-2008, 06:18 AM
Make an php file to do your code and eval the template. That way you can add more sections to the file like they do here on the org with the info.php file. Then make a template and inside the template call a phrase or phrases with the content that you want for the page. I just set up a links page doing it this way.

Dismounted
03-27-2008, 06:49 AM
Please have a look at this article (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=62164), and try to model your templates without any PHP, only including the variables. Put the PHP, assigning data to variables, in the files.

Boofo
03-27-2008, 08:43 AM
I guess my explanation was a little off but that is what I meant.

vietfancy
03-27-2008, 05:34 PM
Thanks all! Got it.