View Full Version : ?? Uncached Template ??
PoetJA-1975
03-21-2008, 12:47 AM
Copied from vB.com: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=262272
I have an uncached template from a recent modification I added (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=171918)
http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/2634/uncachedtemplateaf8.gif
How can I make this template (and any other future uncached templates) cached so no unneccesary queries are called? I've tried editing the index.php file to include the template in the "pre-cache templates used by all actions" section:
// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
'FORUMHOME',
'forumhome_event',
'forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost',
'forumhome_forumbit_level1_post',
'forumhome_forumbit_level2_nopost',
'forumhome_forumbit_level2_post',
'forumhome_lastpostby',
'forumhome_loggedinuser',
'forumhome_moderator',
'forumhome_subforumbit_nopost',
'forumhome_subforumbit_post',
'forumhome_subforumseparator_nopost',
'forumhome_subforumseparator_post',
'forumhome_markread_script'
);
The hook for cb_quickthread is global - so when editing the index.php to include the template - It only works on the main index.php and not all other pages. Question: how can I get the template to cache globally?
Thanx,
Jacquii.
sinisterpain
03-21-2008, 01:07 AM
He should have added this plugin as well to the xml
<plugin active="1">
<title>Quick new thread Template Cache</title>
<hookname>cache_templates</hookname>
<phpcode><![CDATA[$globaltemplates[] = 'cb_quickthread';]]></phpcode>
</plugin>
You can manually add the plugin yourself
PoetJA-1975
03-21-2008, 06:54 AM
WONDERFUL! Thanx so much for you help!
Jacquii.
DivisionByZero
03-21-2008, 07:42 AM
im lazy like that :)
Boofo
03-21-2008, 08:26 AM
Tsk..Tsk.. Ryan. Shame on you. ;)
Opserty
03-21-2008, 10:21 AM
If this template is only used on certain pages you show wrap the cache in a conditional for example if it was only the index.php page:
if(THIS_SCRIPT == 'index')
{
$globaltemplates[] = 'cb_quickthread';
}
Or multiple selected pages:
if(in_array(THIS_SCRIPT, array('index', 'showthread', 'newthread')))
{
$globaltemplates[] = 'cb_quickthread';
}
;)
Boofo
03-21-2008, 11:17 AM
And how would you do something like both of those for multiple templates being cached?
Dismounted
03-21-2008, 11:23 AM
$globaltemplates = array_merge($globaltemplates, array('template1', 'template2'));
Opserty
03-21-2008, 11:25 AM
Or:
$globaltemplates[] = 'template1';
$globaltemplates[] = 'template2';
I think it looks more organised that way :p Obviously only good for about 3-4 templates after which I prefer to go to Dismounted's method.
Boofo
03-21-2008, 11:26 AM
Thank you, sir. I thought that should be included in case anyone stumbles onto this and won't have to ask for that now. ;)
Dismounted
03-21-2008, 11:28 AM
Or:
$globaltemplates[] = 'template1';
$globaltemplates[] = 'template2';
I think it looks more organised that way :p Obviously only good for about 3-4 templates after which I prefer to go to Dismounted's method.
If you want it to look organised...:p
$mytemplates = array(
'template1',
'template2'
);
$globaltemplates = array_merge($globaltemplates, $mytemplates);
Guest190829
03-21-2008, 11:37 AM
Organized code? Who needs that! I like writing everything on one line.
Kirk Y
03-21-2008, 02:25 PM
Organized code? Who needs that! I like writing everything on one line.
Seriously, same here. It's much better on the eyes - no looking up or down, just left and right.
ssslippy
03-21-2008, 02:34 PM
This is a great reference thread.
Boofo
03-21-2008, 02:38 PM
Seriously, same here. It's much better on the eyes - no looking up or down, just left and right.
Then everything starts looking all run-together and makes editing things harder.
Lynne
03-21-2008, 03:00 PM
This is a great reference thread.
Yes, it is. Thanks guys! :up:
PoetJA-1975
03-21-2008, 08:37 PM
im lazy like that :)
Oooooo That's a shame :mad:
Thank you, sir. I thought that should be included in case anyone stumbles onto this and won't have to ask for that now. ;)
Absolutely - Thanx for all the info YAWL ;)
This is a great reference thread.
ABSOLUTELY! :up:
Jacquii.
DivisionByZero
03-21-2008, 08:42 PM
an uncached template isn't something to lose sleep over anyway. i never cache templates unless my work includes a custom file.
Kirk Y
03-21-2008, 09:27 PM
an uncached template isn't something to lose sleep over anyway. i never cache templates unless my work includes a custom file.
It's a senseless query, especially as easy as it is to cache custom templates.
PoetJA-1975
03-22-2008, 07:20 AM
an uncached template isn't something to lose sleep over anyway. i never cache templates unless my work includes a custom file.
OK - I'll remember that the next time I request support for one of your modifications :erm:
Jacquii.
Boofo
03-22-2008, 07:44 AM
an uncached template isn't something to lose sleep over anyway. i never cache templates unless my work includes a custom file.
Very bad habit to get into, my friend. ;)
DivisionByZero
03-22-2008, 07:55 AM
OK - I'll remember that the next time I request support for one of your modifications :erm:
Jacquii.
well if you read the product description, you'll see it isn't supported in the traditional sense. :) I only released it as a courtesy. Anything I release here (rare) with support will be bigger mods.
Boofo
03-22-2008, 08:19 AM
You keep talking like that and I'm gonna want to download all your stuff and install it. Talk like that gets me hot! ;)
DivisionByZero
03-22-2008, 08:23 AM
mhm
Boofo
03-22-2008, 08:50 AM
Which means...? ;)
DivisionByZero
03-22-2008, 08:55 AM
sound it out :)
Boofo
03-22-2008, 09:07 AM
I forgot the sarcasm tags on my post, sorry about that. ;)
PoetJA-1975
03-22-2008, 07:56 PM
well if you read the product description, you'll see it isn't supported in the traditional sense. :) I only released it as a courtesy. Anything I release here (rare) with support will be bigger mods.
That's not the point Dude - The point is I asked a simple question and you neglected to even put up a sarcastic front... Anyway - no problem and Yes - I do thank you again for sharing the modification with the Community - It's something that my Forum has needed for a long time and has helped substantially cut down the amount of emails from stooopid computer illiterates who thinks navigating JPiC Forum is difficult...
Jacquii.
Tourmeister
03-10-2009, 04:36 AM
He should have added this plugin as well to the xml
<plugin active="1">
<title>Quick new thread Template Cache</title>
<hookname>cache_templates</hookname>
<phpcode><![CDATA[$globaltemplates[] = 'cb_quickthread';]]></phpcode>
</plugin>
You can manually add the plugin yourself
Would I save that code in a text file with an XML extension and then use the Plugin Manager to upload it? I get several uncached templates:
Uncached templates: Marquee_Text (1)
Uncached templates: quickreply_addon (1)
Uncached templates: smilies_quickreply (1)
Dismounted
03-10-2009, 05:04 AM
Admin CP > Plugins & Products > Plugins Manager > [Add New Plugin]
Hookname: cache_templates
PHP Code:
$globaltemplates = array_merge($globaltemplates, array(
'Marquee_Text',
'quickreply_addon',
'smilies_quickreply'
));
ragtek
03-10-2009, 05:05 AM
no
just create a plugin!
http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/add_plugin
Tourmeister
03-11-2009, 06:29 PM
Thank you!!
Should work if you list it there. But you have to clear cache :)
linuxututs
11-12-2009, 06:50 PM
This is a Great thread, but I found a much easier way of handling this issue.
I had it installed and forgot about it, and remembered it when I ran into these issues again after browsing this forum.
Check it out "ZH - Template Cache". (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=165567)
Just a awesome Mod People. Just add your uncached templates and your done. !! :)
Thanks,
webmastersitesi
02-27-2011, 09:54 AM
Admin CP > Plugins & Products > Plugins Manager > [Add New Plugin]
Hookname: cache_templates
PHP Code:
$globaltemplates = array_merge($globaltemplates, array(
'Marquee_Text',
'quickreply_addon',
'smilies_quickreply'
));
thanbk you it saved me a query :D
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.