Log in

View Full Version : Query not returning right..


MrApples
03-17-2008, 07:21 PM
This really is a simple noob error (I think), I am probaly not using mysql_fetch_array right. - just to clarify, looks a lot bigger than it really is

I am apparently selecting a string array wrong. Of the two used fields, one CatID should always be 52, and the Words 'This', 'Is', 'A', 'Category', but it gives weird 1 character results.

The same query put into phpMyAdmin displays properly.


$q = "SELECT * FROM dub_catWords WHERE worth = '1'";
echo '<br /> query ' . $q; // TESTING
$r = mysql_query($q);
$words = mysql_fetch_array($r, MYSQL_ASSOC);
foreach ($words as $w){ // Acts as if word not exist
echo '<br />word ' . $w['word']; // TESTING
echo '<br />catID ' . $w['catID']; // TESTING

That displays...

query SELECT * FROM dub_catWords WHERE worth = '1'
word 3
catID 3
word 5
catID 5
word n
catID n
word 1
catID 1

When it should display

word this
catID 52
word is
catID 52
word a
catID 52
word category
catID 52

MoT3rror
03-17-2008, 08:55 PM
$q = "SELECT * FROM dub_catWords WHERE worth = '1'";
echo '<br /> query ' . $q; // TESTING
$r = mysql_query($q);
while($words = mysql_fetch_array($r, MYSQL_ASSOC))){ // Acts as if word not exist
echo '<br />word ' . $word['word']; // TESTING
echo '<br />catID ' . $word['catID']; // TESTING
}

MrApples
03-17-2008, 09:02 PM
Could you explain? Not disagreeing just I am curious. That would mean extra function calls wouldn't it?

PS: It works.

MoT3rror
03-17-2008, 11:33 PM
I am not really for sure, sorry but you can read about the mysql_fetch_array here. (http://www.php.net/manual/en/function.mysql-fetch-array.php) Maybe you will find your answer there.

Dismounted
03-18-2008, 04:57 AM
mysql_fetch_array() fetches the results as an array. And the while construct loops through the array until it ends.