View Full Version : Permission code
anuanu
03-16-2008, 01:57 PM
What would the code be to not allow unregistered users go to my custom pages? Either template code or html will work.
Thanks in advance.
MoT3rror
03-16-2008, 04:31 PM
PHP:
if($vbulletin->userinfo['userid'] == 0)
{
//user isn't signed (error message goes here)
}
Template:
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[userid] == 0">User isn't currently signed in</if>
Lynne
03-16-2008, 04:40 PM
I use a slightly different code. I must have gotten it from vb somewhere, cuz I don't just make these up. :)
if (!isset($vbulletin->userinfo['userid']) OR $vbulletin->userinfo['userid'] == 0)
{
print_no_permission();
}
That gives a No Permission Page to the user.
Boofo
03-16-2008, 04:41 PM
Or
if(!$vbulletin->userinfo['userid'])
Opserty
03-16-2008, 04:53 PM
Go with Boofo's I'd say :p
In a template: <if condition="!$bbuserinfo['userid']">....</if>
Boofo
03-16-2008, 05:32 PM
Go with Boofo's I'd say :p
In a template: <if condition="!$bbuserinfo['userid']">....</if>
I didn't see the 'template or html' part of that message. Duh on me. ;)
anuanu
03-16-2008, 11:04 PM
Thx guys for all the help, I would have to say that i like Lynne's code the most. Mostly cause i dont want a custom error message i just need to prevent unregistered users to access a custom page i created and getting the defualt message is perfect.
Dismounted
03-17-2008, 06:18 AM
I use a slightly different code. I must have gotten it from vb somewhere, cuz I don't just make these up. :)
if (!isset($vbulletin->userinfo['userid']) OR $vbulletin->userinfo['userid'] == 0)
{
print_no_permission();
}
That gives a No Permission Page to the user.
The first bit is redundant as if a variable is not set, it will return false or 0 anyway :p.
Marco van Herwaarden
03-17-2008, 07:45 AM
If it is not set, it will NOT return 0. If it is not set how should PHP even know it is numeric?
Opserty
03-17-2008, 03:53 PM
If it is not set, it will NOT return 0. If it is not set how should PHP even know it is numeric?
NULL returns false as a boolean value, 0 returns false as a boolean value. Therefore they are pretty much identical in an if() expression :p
Marco van Herwaarden
03-18-2008, 07:03 AM
That only works if you make a boolean comparison. ;)
Will work in both NULL and 0:
if(!$vbulletin->userinfo['userid'])
Will not work when not set:
if($vbulletin->userinfo['userid'] == 0)
Dismounted
03-18-2008, 08:35 AM
Nope, as "==" means is equal to (and does not check type). A null value is equal to "false" and "zero" when comparing with "==". I think you're mixing up "==" with "===" (equal to and equal in type).
Try:
<?php
if ($test == 0)
{
echo Works;
}
else
{
echo Nope;
}
?>
Marco van Herwaarden
03-18-2008, 08:46 AM
My mistake, you are correct on this.
raagaswaram
05-19-2009, 02:06 AM
where do i edit this
Dismounted
05-19-2009, 07:05 AM
What exactly are you looking to do?
raagaswaram
05-19-2009, 05:31 PM
im trying to put a no permission messaged based on usergroup. guests get different message then registered users (who cannot access certain forums)
Lynne
05-19-2009, 06:16 PM
im trying to put a no permission messaged based on usergroup. guests get different message then registered users (who cannot access certain forums)You already made a thread about this and I've been answering your questions there.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.