Log in

View Full Version : Any simple example of how to use a hook?


yellowpinky
03-08-2008, 02:17 PM
I'd like to replace a hook statement with some custom code.
I presume that is possible??

Example: in Template postbit

there is a line:
$template_hook[postbit_start]

What I would like is to do a print "ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ";
right where where that line is.

What are the steps needed to make this happen?
like do I create a file called postbit_start somewhere?

Thank you.

shovel
03-08-2008, 03:09 PM
$template_hook[postbit_start] is a variable for the comment within the HTML when the postbit template is rendered. If you would like to print something dynamically within that template, follow the following example.

Postbit Template:
$template_hook[postbit_start]
$myPostbitAddition

Goto...
AdminCP -> (left menu) Plugins & Products -> Plugin Manager

Fill out the form with the following information...

Product: vBulletin
Hook Location: postbit_display_complete
Title: My Postbit Addition
Execution Order: 5 (default)
Plugin PHP Code:
$myPostbitAddition = 'ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ';

Plugin is Active: Yes

Click "Save" and continue on to your forums and view the Postbit within a thread. You should see your variable printed within each Postbit render.

Hope this helps!

- shovel

Dismounted
03-09-2008, 02:30 AM
Errr, shovel, why would you do that when you can USE the hook? A bit pointless, IMO.

Have a read of: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=147447

shovel
03-09-2008, 01:26 PM
As far as I understood he wanted to insert a variable. Either way, I can see your point Dismounted. I tend to over think at times, it happens haha.

yellowpinky
03-12-2008, 11:38 AM
$template_hook[postbit_start]

So this line is in there for no reason other than a comment?

how did you make the jump to the hook: postbit_display_complete
I mean, what documentation would say, to use postbit_start
add a hook for, postbit_display_complete?

I'm so clueless here.


The other post: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=147447
is a listing of hooks, not any instructions how how to use them. How do you use these things, called hooks?

It includes: $template_hook[postbit_start]
But why, if it is just a comment, and therefore unusable(?)
It makes no mention of postbit_display_complete, the one you presumably should use.

Dismounted
03-13-2008, 05:36 AM
$template_hook[postbit_start]
It is a PHP variable you can use to insert data through plugins. You add plugins through the Admin CP > Plugins & Products > Add New Plugin.