View Full Version : Any simple example of how to use a hook?
yellowpinky
03-08-2008, 02:17 PM
I'd like to replace a hook statement with some custom code.
I presume that is possible??
Example: in Template postbit
there is a line:
$template_hook[postbit_start]
What I would like is to do a print "ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ";
right where where that line is.
What are the steps needed to make this happen?
like do I create a file called postbit_start somewhere?
Thank you.
shovel
03-08-2008, 03:09 PM
$template_hook[postbit_start] is a variable for the comment within the HTML when the postbit template is rendered. If you would like to print something dynamically within that template, follow the following example.
Postbit Template:
$template_hook[postbit_start]
$myPostbitAddition
Goto...
AdminCP -> (left menu) Plugins & Products -> Plugin Manager
Fill out the form with the following information...
Product: vBulletin
Hook Location: postbit_display_complete
Title: My Postbit Addition
Execution Order: 5 (default)
Plugin PHP Code:
$myPostbitAddition = 'ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ';
Plugin is Active: Yes
Click "Save" and continue on to your forums and view the Postbit within a thread. You should see your variable printed within each Postbit render.
Hope this helps!
- shovel
Dismounted
03-09-2008, 02:30 AM
Errr, shovel, why would you do that when you can USE the hook? A bit pointless, IMO.
Have a read of: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=147447
shovel
03-09-2008, 01:26 PM
As far as I understood he wanted to insert a variable. Either way, I can see your point Dismounted. I tend to over think at times, it happens haha.
yellowpinky
03-12-2008, 11:38 AM
$template_hook[postbit_start]
So this line is in there for no reason other than a comment?
how did you make the jump to the hook: postbit_display_complete
I mean, what documentation would say, to use postbit_start
add a hook for, postbit_display_complete?
I'm so clueless here.
The other post: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=147447
is a listing of hooks, not any instructions how how to use them. How do you use these things, called hooks?
It includes: $template_hook[postbit_start]
But why, if it is just a comment, and therefore unusable(?)
It makes no mention of postbit_display_complete, the one you presumably should use.
Dismounted
03-13-2008, 05:36 AM
$template_hook[postbit_start]
It is a PHP variable you can use to insert data through plugins. You add plugins through the Admin CP > Plugins & Products > Add New Plugin.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.