View Full Version : I have restricted font size in threads to size 2, but want one forum unrestricted.
Allnick
02-25-2008, 11:23 PM
I asked at vbulletin.com and was told some PHP codeing would be required, and this was the best place to ask.
Basically, I have restricted the maximum font size members can use to size 2 in all my forums, via the style manager>toolbar menu options>Available size.
I need to have one foum unrestricted to allow the default of up to size 7, without having to switch editor mode.
Can anyone advise please?
shovel
02-26-2008, 02:54 PM
Actually it's just a style change away really. Find the template called "editor_clientscript" (if you can't find it, do a template look-up using keyword "sizeoptions"). Within that template you'll notice you have the following...
var sizeoptions = new Array($vBeditJs[size_options_array]);What you can replace it with is the following. Obviously you'd just put the forum id that's unrestricted rather than what I have. It should look like this...
<if condition="$forumid == 4"> <!-- unrestricted forum id -->
var sizeoptions = new Array(1,2,3,4,5,6,7); <!-- unrestricted sizes -->
<else />
var sizeoptions = new Array($vBeditJs[size_options_array]); <!-- default sizes -->
</if>
Allnick
02-26-2008, 06:50 PM
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.
That worked perfectly.:)
I am very grateful for your help.
shovel
02-26-2008, 07:04 PM
Absolutely. I'm glad I could help. :)
Allnick
06-25-2009, 11:26 PM
My forums have progressed slightly, and I now need to have three forums with unrestricted text size.
I've tried editing the editor_clientscript template as below....
<if condition="$forumid == x,xx,xxx"> <!-- unrestricted forum id -->
var sizeoptions = new Array(1,2,3,4,5,6,7); <!-- unrestricted sizes -->
<else />
var sizeoptions = new Array($vBeditJs[size_options_array]); <!-- default sizes -->
</if>
I get an error message on clicking "Save".......error on line 6, unexpected "," ..or words to that effect.
I assume using a comma to seperate multiple forums doesn't work.
I'm still a novice at codeing, and would appreciate help with the correct code for this.
Many Thanks.
HMBeaty
06-26-2009, 12:34 AM
Try this
<if condition="$forumid == 4" AND "$forumid == 5" AND "$forumid == 6"> <!-- unrestricted forum id -->
var sizeoptions = new Array(1,2,3,4,5,6,7); <!-- unrestricted sizes -->
<else />
var sizeoptions = new Array($vBeditJs[size_options_array]); <!-- default sizes -->
</if>
Not 100% sure if thats correct but its worth a shot
Allnick
06-26-2009, 12:52 AM
Thanks for trying...........
Error message as follows.
The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_CONSTANT_ENCAPSED_STRING in /home/mywebsite/www/www/vB/includes/adminfunctions_template.php(3596) : eval()'d code on line 6
This is likely caused by a malformed conditional statement. It is highly recommended that you fix this error before continuing, but you may continue as-is if you wish.
Dismounted
06-26-2009, 06:18 AM
<if condition="in_array($forumid, array(4, 5, 6))"> <!-- unrestricted forum id -->
var sizeoptions = new Array(1,2,3,4,5,6,7); <!-- unrestricted sizes -->
<else />
var sizeoptions = new Array($vBeditJs[size_options_array]); <!-- default sizes -->
</if>
HMBeaty
06-26-2009, 06:37 AM
Haha, go figure. A space after the comma. I was thinking that but didn't think it would be right
Allnick
06-28-2009, 07:13 PM
Many thanks Dismounted.
It works perfectly. :up:
chuckc
10-03-2009, 01:54 AM
Basically, I have restricted the maximum font size members can use to size 2 in all my forums, via the style manager>toolbar menu options>Available size.
I'm looking for a way to prevent posting in fonts larger than size 4.
The method given does not prevent larger fonts. The method below only removes larger fonts from a pull-down. One can still type in a size larger than Size 4.
How do I prevent large fonts from appearing?
chuckc
10-07-2009, 03:35 PM
So... Anyone out there have a way to prevent fonts from being larger than a certain size?
Lynne
10-07-2009, 04:37 PM
You could use Replacement Variables to replace <font size="7"> with <font size="2"> or whatever. (Do for font sizes 5 through 7)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.