Log in

View Full Version : How to add WYSIWYG editor in admincp


Lionel
02-01-2008, 10:00 PM
I saw a couple of posts about inquiries on adding an editor in admincp. It's actually quite simple, using an external editor. Downloadd the free TinyMCE (http://tinymce.moxiecode.com/) editor.

To most people that should be sufficient. If you need upload power (images, flash, movies etc...) they are also selling a couple of extensions to do so, or you could install the free jQuery ajax upload for that editor.

In your application, insert at the top below the print_cp_header. Consult the TinyMCE documentation for adding/removing elements in editor. The one below will insert everything.

?>
<link href="../PATH_TO/tinymce/themes/advanced/css/editor_ui.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript" src="../PATH_TO/tinymce/tiny_mce.js"></script>
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
tinyMCE.init({
mode : "textareas",
theme : "advanced"});
</script>
<?php
In your print_textarea_row, make sure that you disable the large edit text button. You don't need it anymore and it will not work anyway.

print_textarea_row($vbphrase['yourphrase'], 'name_of_field', $item[database_column], '','',1,0);That's it. Every textarea in your application will now have a powerful WYSIWYG editor.

It's really a nice editor, you can use preset templates to do your inserts etc ...

NicholasMarshal
02-19-2008, 07:42 AM
This is a great article - very handy to add tiny mce to the admincp

dabdoub
03-16-2008, 02:01 PM
Thank u , but after installation where i could find the editor ?!!!

jim6763nva
03-26-2008, 08:55 PM
I hate to say this but the instructions to install this are not very clear. What file(s) need to be modified? Where should the MCE files be uploaded to? etc.

Could you add more detail to this please?

Thanks,
Jim

Lionel
03-26-2008, 09:03 PM
This is meant for developers

Opserty
03-29-2008, 05:55 PM
This would have been better if it utilised the vBulletin WYSIWIG editor, instead of requiring the addition of another script.

Was it not possible?

Lionel
03-29-2008, 11:04 PM
I don't think anyone have figured that yet. Specially some scripts would require multiple editors, which so far no one has been able to implement

Taragon
08-27-2008, 09:44 AM
Hello Lionel,

I hope it’s ok to ask, since I’m not completely sure what it does.
It gives an alternative for the default vB wysiwyg editor right?

whem
11-18-2009, 04:59 AM
hi
this is great idea ..

dose it work with vb 3.8.4 and vbadvanced ..

thank you

THE BLUE DRAGON
06-23-2011, 03:31 PM
how i can use it with 3.8.5
i hope some one explain more :(

cuz really i need it .,,.