PDA

View Full Version : Requires with plugin


RobDog888
01-28-2008, 06:34 PM
<font color="darkgreen">I am trying to add additional content to the postbit template conditionally and pulling in a template bit with the php code in a requires statement in the plugin.

Usually not a problem but Im getting errors when I try to call a "$db->query_read( blah, blah " statement. Says object null or required.

Even with a single line of code in my requires php page I get the $db is null. What could be the issue?

Im using showthread_postbit_create or postbit_start hook location(s) as either will generate the same error.

Thanks</font>

Andrew Green
01-28-2008, 06:37 PM
try "$vbulletin->db->query_read"

RobDog888
01-28-2008, 06:56 PM
Thanks for the quick reply.

I still get a ...
Fatal error: Call to a member function on a non-object in .... forums/includes/class_postbit.php(268) : eval()'d code on line 9


Line 9 in the plugin is "$vbulletin->db->query_read("" as I commented out the requires to simplify things and moving it all into the plugin for testing only.

Opserty
01-28-2008, 07:14 PM
$this->registry->db->query_read()

or

$this->dbobject->query_read()

RobDog888
01-28-2008, 07:28 PM
I get these errors for each suggestion respectivly.

Fatal error: Call to undefined method: vb_registry->query_read()

Fatal error: Call to a member function on a non-object

--------------- Added 1201556097 at 1201556097 ---------------

postbit_display_start is in the class_postbit.php which is not really where I think I should be using for the location hook but it works when I dont execute a query.

The construct_postbit is the function where that hook is located. Couldit be possible that the location of the hook is the issue?

Opserty
01-28-2008, 07:42 PM
I'll take a look at the file in a sec. but just to check did you use:

$this->registry->db->query_read()

Because according to your error I'm guessing you did $this->registry->query_read() which isn't correct.

RobDog888
01-28-2008, 07:47 PM
I changed it and retested it and same error.

$myvar = $this->registry->db->query_read("SELECT * FROM Table1");



Thanks I appreciate all the help guys :)

Ps, I changed the hook location to "showthread_post_start" but still errors but I think thats the best hook

Opserty
01-28-2008, 07:54 PM
In showthread_... you should be able to use $vbulletin->db->query_read() or $db->query_read().

As a last resort you can try $GLOBALS['vbulletin']->db->query_read()

RobDog888
01-28-2008, 08:08 PM
For some weird reason the plugin wont display static text with showthread_post_start but it does with postbit_display_start.

I tried your latest suggestion $GLOBALS['vbulletin'] and it worked! I got a simple query to run and display the number of records returned in the postbit template with postbit_display_start. Thanks a million :D

I dont know why I have to use the hook in the class_postbit.php file but maybe it has to do with order of execution or something?

sinisterpain
01-28-2008, 08:22 PM
Would be more helpful to post what you have

RobDog888
01-28-2008, 08:32 PM
Its just some conditionals so it only executes in a specific forum and only for the first post.

But its just using the globals object to execute a basic query.
$myrecs = $GLOBALS['vbulletin']->db->query_read("
SELECT
t.field1
FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."table1 AS t
ORDER BY t.id DESC"
);
$mrows = $GLOBALS['vbulletin']->db->num_rows($myrecs );
$count = '(' . $mrows . ')' . ' Records Returned';

And then in the postbit template I just reference the $count variable to display it.
This is really just a test to get it working in the plugin as I have a very complex php file that will be running with the require_once function replacing this.