View Full Version : Vb option array
wolfe
01-28-2008, 08:43 AM
i have a vb option with a list of forum ids seperated by commas but when i use it in the php file $vbulletin->options[fids] in a query i get thread.forumid = (Array) error
how do i get around this.
thx in advance
Dismounted
01-28-2008, 08:50 AM
Please post the code you are using.
wolfe
01-28-2008, 09:22 AM
k
// Count all log entries
$tcount = $vbulletin->db->query_first("
SELECT COUNT(*) AS `tcount`
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "thread AS thread
WHERE thread.forumid IN($vbulletin->options[fids])
");
$vbulletin->db->free_result($fcount);
Dismounted
01-28-2008, 09:34 AM
// Count all log entries
$tcount = $vbulletin->db->query_first("
SELECT COUNT(*) AS `tcount`
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "thread AS thread
WHERE thread.forumid IN(" . $vbulletin->options['fids'] . ")
");
$vbulletin->db->free_result($fcount);
wolfe
01-28-2008, 09:50 AM
thx m8 worked a treat what about this one this giving errors
$forumchoic = implode(',', fetch_search_forumids($vbulletin->options['fids'] ,''));
Marco van Herwaarden
01-28-2008, 10:20 AM
If that option contains a list of comma-seperated values, then you are probably looking for explode() to convert it to an array. Also the 3rd parameter is not needed.
wolfe
01-28-2008, 10:24 AM
$forumchoic = explode(',', fetch_search_forumids("".$vbulletin->options['fids'] . ""));
not working m8 getting error
Fatal error: Cannot pass parameter 1 by reference in /home/freec/public_html/findex.php on line 100
Opserty
01-28-2008, 02:48 PM
Why have you all of a sudden decided to put down quotes around your $vbulletin->options variable?
wolfe
01-29-2008, 09:11 AM
because i get an (Array) error otherwise
Opserty
01-29-2008, 04:51 PM
You must pass the forum id's as an array to the fetch_search_forumids() function. Make sure you read the code behind the function when you start using them, it will easily prevent you from getting these errors and also make understanding vBulletin a lot better.
If the fetch_search_forumids() is a string you need to first explode() the string into an array then pass this array to the function
N.B. You won't be able to do it inline as you must the variable by reference:
$vbulletin->options['fids'] = explode(',', $vbulletin->options['fids']);
$outcome = fetch_search_forumids($vbulletin->options['fids']);
// implode the forum ids or whatever you want
Again I can't stress enough that you learn a heck of a lot about how a function works by just looking at the PHP code behind it.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.