PDA

View Full Version : Help with some hooks


FatalBreeze
01-26-2008, 12:19 PM
Hello!
I've built this recursive function and put it in the hook showthread_start:

function is_parent_forum_is_341_categoty($forum)
{
//Returns True if parentid is a 341 category, false otherwise
global $vbulletin;
if ($forum['forumid'] == 341)
return true;
if ($forum['parentid'] == -1)
return false;
$parent = $vbulletin->forumcache[$forum[parentid]];
return is_parent_forum_is_341_categoty($parent);
}
$show_ads_in_this_forum = !is_parent_forum_is_341_categoty($foruminfo);


Now i also want to use in the hook postbit_display_start, but it seems that this hook, doesn't acknlowledge the function i built above, or the variable $show_ads_in_this_forum, what strange is, that when i tried to implment this function is postbit_display_start, i had ad error which said that is function is already implemented somewhere else in the code, and even if i change its name, something that's really weird.

Can you please help? Thanks.

Lynne
01-26-2008, 02:14 PM
If you put a function in postbit_display_start, it gets called everytime the postbit is called on the showthread page - so 15, 20 times (whatever your default is) - which is why you get told the function already exists.

FatalBreeze
01-26-2008, 03:48 PM
You're right! Thanks!
So can you please tell me in which hook i should implement this function, in order to be able to use the variable "$show_ads_in_this_forum" in both SHOWTHREAD and in POSTBIT_LEGACY templates?

Lynne
01-26-2008, 04:20 PM
postbit_legacy (or postbit) is called in the showthread template. So, I would think you would be fine just calling this in the showthread hook. Is it not working in there? You may need to change it from $forum[forumid] and $forum[parentid] to $foruminfo[whatever]. Or, you may need to use $thread instead of $forum. Play around with it a bit. (Sorry, that's the way I code, I just play around with it until it works.)

Opserty
01-26-2008, 04:47 PM
You could make use of vB's functions, let it do the hard work for you :p


// If $thread doesn't work, try $post or try $foruminfo
$parents = fetch_forum_parent_list($thread['forumid']);

// You may need to use array_map('trim', explode(',', $parents)); if that works though
$parents = explode(',', $parents);

if(in_array('341', $parents))
{
// $show_ads_in_this_forum = true; ?
}

Andreas
01-26-2008, 06:29 PM
Why so complicated?


$show['ads'] = (strpos(",$foruminfo[parentlist],", ',341,') !== false) ? true : false;


on showthread_start and use $show['ads'] in your templates.

Marco van Herwaarden
01-27-2008, 07:23 AM
Andreas, wouldn't that fail if 341 was on the top or bottom of the list?

(ie. only a comma in the end or beginning)

Never mind, i should learn to read things good. ;)

FatalBreeze
01-27-2008, 07:47 AM
Thanks Andreas!
You helped me a lot :)

Andreas
01-27-2008, 11:05 AM
Andreas, wouldn't that fail if 341 was on the top or bottom of the list?

(ie. only a comma in the end or beginning)

That's why I added commas on both start and end for needle and haystack ;)

Marco van Herwaarden
01-27-2008, 11:58 AM
Yes saw that after i posted, hence my last line (which you did not quote;) )