PDA

View Full Version : cron using datamanager issues


lyndonb
01-25-2008, 02:39 PM
Hi all!

I'm new to Vbulletin, but have programming experience. I'm trying to create a cron to automatically open and close forums.

I have the script fully setup, but it fails on the cron (works when I open the script in a browser).

I've hunted and line in init.php 414 ---->

$vbulletin->session =& new vB_Session($vbulletin, $sessionhash, $vbulletin->GPC[COOKIE_PREFIX . 'userid'], $vbulletin->GPC[COOKIE_PREFIX . 'password'] , $styleid, $languageid);

is the show stopper. Its creating a session, which obviously isn't happening when the script runs from the command line.

Does anyone have any suggestions here?

Thanks in advance

Lyndon

MarkPW
01-25-2008, 11:53 PM
Is there a reason why you're creating a session for your cron script?

I define the following for my crons:

define('SKIP_SESSIONCREATE', 1);
define('NOCOOKIES', 1);
define('DIE_QUIETLY', 1);

Marco van Herwaarden
01-26-2008, 07:19 AM
Are you setting up an Operating System cronjob, or a vBulletin Scheduled Task?

lyndonb
01-26-2008, 02:39 PM
I haven't defined:

define('NOCOOKIES', 1);
define('DIE_QUIETLY', 1);

It's using the systems crotab.

I'm not creating a session on purpose, I'm trying to open / close the forums using VBulletin's system function. I didn't know about the NOCOOKIES macro, which I think, judging from the name, will solve my issue.

I'll try defining the macro's on monday.

Thanks for the help and I'll post with the result.

L

lyndonb
01-28-2008, 11:58 AM
This worked thanks.

Lyndon