View Full Version : What array is the "Thread" information stored in?
footose
12-27-2007, 08:13 PM
I'm making a plugin / addon for my board, and currently I am using a SELECT statement for every postbit. This is adding an overhead on the SQL server, because it essentially add's a query for every post.
I'm looking to collect all of the "posts" in a Thread before it is displayed so that I can run a single query against the database and dump it to an array, which will then be parsed by the postbit instead. I assume this is how VB is already doing this for the threads, so I want to access whatever is in the "thread" array.
I'm curious if anyone can tell me what this array is called, and it's identifiers.
Thank you.
Harry
Opserty
12-27-2007, 09:25 PM
I'm not to sure what you are trying to do but if you look at Line 951 thats where the post query begins. (N.B. the hook 2 Lines above it).
If you create a plugin with that hook location and set the query variables appropriately you can fetch the addition info by joining the table to the existing query.
footose
12-27-2007, 10:09 PM
Thanks. I will check into this and get back to you.
I have another table that I want the info from, so that it is displayed in the postbit, but I want to beable to do it with one query, instead of everytime there is a postbit displayed, like I currently have.
I was hoping that I could somehow "add on" to the $post, or $user or $thread array's with this info....
--------------- Added 1198802924 at 1198802924 ---------------
Sorry for another question but..
on line 965, there is the $hook_query_fields, this is where I would put the "select" statement that I want to add to this correct?
on line 977, this is where I would put the table I want to grab from?
and then where do I put my "where" statement "hook" ??
--------------- Added 1198805317 at 1198805317 ---------------
EDIT: I think I've done this correctly, as it is working now.. for other people that are interested
I put this into a plugin, using the showthread_query hook location.
<?php
// Attaches to the $hook_query_fields in showthread.php, line 965
$hook_query_fields .= ", " . TABLE_PREFIX . "tablename.field AS fieldname";
// Attaches to $hook_query_joins in showthread.php, line 977
$hook_query_joins .= "
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "tablename AS tablename ON(tablename.id = othertablename.id)";
?>
Now I haven't added any extra queries to my page, thus keeping overhead down on SQL.
This particular example can be access by $post[] array, so $post[fieldname]
Thanks for the lead into the right direction Opserty
Opserty
12-28-2007, 09:35 AM
No problem and :up: for putting up the solution. :)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.