PDA

View Full Version : Which Execution Order to use


adnan2007
12-09-2007, 11:35 PM
I couldn't find any documentation of this on the manual.

This is what I made out of the description given.

Use this field to enter the order in which code at the same hook will be executed.

To my understanding this is the order in which code gets executed within a specific hook.



I have a few questions.

Now how does one go about choosing the execution order or see if any other snippet is conflicting.

What happens if they overlap?

I see different products using the same hooks, do they all need to have different Execution Orders.


thx

Marco van Herwaarden
12-10-2007, 05:25 AM
Unless there is a specific reason you want you code to run before or after other plugins, i would simply leave it at the default of 5.

Cars2007
04-24-2008, 05:49 PM
Is execution order ascending? Does an EO of 1 run before an EO of 5?

I am getting a warning about a foreach() in one of my plugins, but I'm having a hard time figuring out *which* foreach it is because the reported line number doesn't have a foreach on it. I can set the EO to 1 or to 10 but it still won't land on a line that actually has a foreach.

Opserty
04-24-2008, 06:11 PM
Yes, if you have multiple plugin's then check all of the plugins that are associated with the hook that is being excecuted when the error is generated. Your error will probably look like this:

Error: .... in somemefile.php(193) eval()'d code line 212

193 is the Line number in somefile.php from this you can find the hook which is being executed, 212 is the line number of the code from plugins associated with that hook.

Cars2007
04-24-2008, 07:36 PM
I figured that out. What I need to know is whether the plugin execution order is ascending or descending. I am getting wierd results from setting it to 1 or 10.

Boofo
04-24-2008, 07:58 PM
1 runs first and 10 runs last.