PDA

View Full Version : XHTML & Product/Hack ...


eqlog
11-12-2007, 05:55 PM
Hello,

I was wondering if anyone could provide some help/input into a little 'snitch' I've ran into. This post is in relation to this hack; https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=99829

#################

vB isn't very semantic, however it's not too bad. But, when using the markup provided in the above linked hack:

<if condition="$childforumbits">
<tbody id="collapseobj_forumbit_$forumid" style="{$collapseobj_forumid}">
<if condition="$forum['subforumcolumns'] > 1">
<tr>
<td class="alt1" colspan="<if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">6<else />5</if>">
<table style="border: none; width: 100%;">
$childforumbits
</table>
</td>
</tr>
<else />
$childforumbits
</if>
</tbody>
</if>

I notice the markup becomes unsemantic, due to these being lists, and no longer tabular data, as a BB is natively. I can change the markup myself to become semantic, however, I have a few questions, and would like some input before I make such edits ..

My first is, what exactly(Which template?) does $childforumbits import?

Next, if I'm going to make this semantic, having multiple columns will require a different approach, since sticking any old table and amount of columns in isn't the same, on many levels(usability,accessibility etc).

What I'll need to do, is apply different class/styles depending on whether there are 2 columns, or 3 columns(We'll never use more than 3, however I can easily add a 4th if I know the conditions).

Which brings me to my second question, when using an IF condition how do I go about saying 'if value is equal to 2 then do this', and 'if not and is equal to 3, do this', for example;

<if condition="$forum['subforumcolumns'] == 2">

My third question, is much more simple, and is; can this hack support what I want to do in question 2?

Whilst I'm excellent with XHTML markup, I'm not so great at using vB IF conditions. Any help will be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Edit: Oh, I almost forgot - Will I have problems seperating the categories into multiple lists if the childforums variable is used, instead of using the bloated tables? Or can I also use the conditions above in the childforums variable template to make sure the markup fits?

--------------- Added 1194971331 at 1194971331 ---------------

Does no one have any idea? :(

eqlog
11-14-2007, 08:21 AM
I apologize for being a nuisance, but can no one help me out?

Analogpoint
11-14-2007, 01:45 PM
My first is, what exactly(Which template?) does $childforumbits import?
(One or more of) the forumhome_forumbit_level* templates.

Which brings me to my second question, when using an IF condition how do I go about saying 'if value is equal to 2 then do this', and 'if not and is equal to 3, do this', for example;
<if condition="$var == 1">
// 1
<else />
<if condition="$var == 2">
// 2
<else />
<if condition="$var == 3">
// 3
</if>
</if>
</if>
It would be nice if templates supported the else if & switch constructs.

eqlog
11-15-2007, 12:58 PM
Thank you very much for your help :)