View Full Version : Resource ID #18
amnesia623
10-29-2007, 02:14 PM
Hello -
I've been following this tutorial here: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=119350
I've been trying to access the database via this code:
$mytest = $db->query_read("SELECT state_name FROM vb_sidemenu_states WHERE state_id=1");
I put it in a plugin and assigned it to global_start hook. When I display the $mytest variable in a template, I get:
Resource id #18
I've also tried
$mytest = $vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT state_name FROM vb_sidemenu_states WHERE state_id=1");
Where I am wrong?
The above selected table is in the vb database
Guest190829
10-29-2007, 02:31 PM
query_read returns a resource variable, hence what you are getting.
Use query_first instead of query_read when you are selecting only one row.
(In future cases you need to iterate through $db->fetch_array() with the resource returned from query_read)
amnesia623
10-29-2007, 02:42 PM
Thanks for the reply.
I am having some issue with the syntax of this.
My goal is to display a list of items as a side menu. Where is my error in the following code? I am confused on where exactly to query and the pull it into an array.
Thanks BTW...
$getstate = $db->query_read("SELECT state_name FROM vb_sidemenu_states");
while ($getstate = $db->fetch_array($result))
{
$mytest = $results;
};
Guest190829
10-29-2007, 02:46 PM
What do you want to do with the data, inside the loop you can access state_name via:
while(...)
{
# Echos each State name
echo $getstate['state_name'];
}
Lynne
10-29-2007, 02:48 PM
Thanks for the reply.
I am having some issue with the syntax of this.
My goal is to display a list of items as a side menu. Where is my error in the following code? I am confused on where exactly to query and the pull it into an array.
Thanks BTW...
$getstate = $db->query_read("SELECT state_name FROM vb_sidemenu_states");
while ($getstate = $db->fetch_array($result))
{
$mytest = $results;
};
Just a little explanation that may help out. Your first line does a read query and the results from the query (which are actually pointers, not actual results) go into a variable called $getstate. Your next line needs to go through the results of that query and so they assign a new variable to the array they are fetching. So, your second line makes no sense. You need to assign a new variable name to go through the array, like "while ($result = $db->fetch_array($getstate))". Now you can actually do something with the variable called "$result". Normally you would call the variable as "$result['state_name']" (don't quote me on the use of the single quotes there, I've never understood when to use then and when not, I'm a trial and error coder). So, you could say "$mytest = $result['state_name'];" and then spit out the variable $mytest in your code.
amnesia623
10-29-2007, 02:52 PM
I eventually want to pull the state_name and state_link. Format the data as a menu and assign it to a variable so I can drop it into a template.
--------------- Added 1193673468 at 1193673468 ---------------
Just a little explanation that may help out. Your first line does a read query and the results from the query (which are actually pointers, not actual results) go into a variable called $getstate. Your next line needs to go through the results of that query and so they assign a new variable to the array they are fetching. So, your second line makes no sense. You need to assign a new variable name to go through the array, like "while ($result = $db->fetch_array($getstate))". Now you can actually do something with the variable called "$result". Normally you would call the variable as "$result['state_name']" (don't quote me on the use of the single quotes there, I've never understood when to use then and when not, I'm a trial and error coder). So, you could say "$mytest = $result['state_name'];" and then spit out the variable $mytest in your code.
Thanks for this too... You both have been a great help.
After reading the code again I did realize that I had the $results and $getstate flipped.
I will try out this newly-founded knowledge and see if I can get it to work. If I can...this will be great!
--------------- Added 1193676153 at 1193676153 ---------------
Thank you very much, I now understand how to do this and it's runnin' just like I want!
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.