PDA

View Full Version : AdminCP User Check


Hex_legend
09-29-2007, 02:26 PM
Under what file / line would I find the file that checks for an admin login in the ACP?

I mean, if I wanted access to the ACP by all users, what would I change / edit?

Funny request I know, I have my reasons, just would like some assistance.

Thanks

Opserty
09-29-2007, 02:35 PM
I'd check global.php file in the admincp folder its probably in there. Though you only have yourself to blame if something goes wrong...

Hex_legend
09-29-2007, 02:37 PM
I'm running a test board at the moment,

Just wondering if anyone can tell me the line of code that I need to remove to allow all users to log into the ACP

Opserty
09-29-2007, 02:52 PM
Looking at it again...I don't think you can, because every time you add an administrator they get certain admin permission...You might be able to remove it from the global.php file but I don't know what effect this would have on the AdminCP itself or its functions.

Hex_legend
09-29-2007, 02:54 PM
Does anyone know how to have the ACP working but allowing a specific usergroup to access it, lets say - Registered Users

dyna88
09-29-2007, 03:52 PM
Go into your Usergroup Manager select the usergroup that you want to access the adminCP and set "Can Access Control Panel (is Administrator)" to yes....

Hex_legend
09-29-2007, 04:00 PM
That's not quite what I mean dyna,

Basically, I am totally re-editing the admincp as a standard control panel for everyone to access.

There will still be an ACP, but there will also be a new control panel exactly the same as the ACP which is why I need it so that all people can access this new ACP..

Lets say.. I call it UCP, but copy all the ACP files over, how can I remove the user permissions check so it lets all users access the UCP?

dyna88
09-29-2007, 04:02 PM
hmmm, I curious as to what advantage that would give you??? Please explain....

Hex_legend
09-29-2007, 04:04 PM
Its for a personal project that I am trying to come up with.

All I want is something like the ACP or MODCP with my own options inside, so nothing that would cause harm to the site, but something that all users can access.

Opserty
09-29-2007, 05:11 PM
Look into using the:

print_cp_header()
print_cp_footer()

Functions then, as opposed to hacking the vBulletin files. To be honest you should stay completely clear of using any vBulletin AdminCP hacks...I don't know how much programming knowledge you have but I wouldn't give any users access to files in the AdminCP even if you are making your own options make them in a seperate folder (e.g. /usercp/ or something and base the files on the files in the ACP but don't use the exact code unless your completely sure that it is safe.

There are a large number of print_* functions to print various items in the adminfunctions.php file: http://members.vbulletin.com/api/

WhaLberg
10-01-2007, 02:24 AM
Lets say.. I call it UCP, but copy all the ACP files over, how can I remove the user permissions check so it lets all users access the UCP?

In AdminCP files, there are three lines like this:
if (!can_administer('canadminsettings'))
{
print_cp_no_permission();
}

Remove it.

Hex_legend
10-06-2007, 01:09 PM
Any idea what files hold this?

WhaLberg
10-06-2007, 01:14 PM
Almost all files in admincp directory.

Hex_legend
10-06-2007, 01:15 PM
I've done a search in each file and it says:

"Finished Searching the document"

WhaLberg
10-06-2007, 01:38 PM
Not every file has the same permission checking try searching can_administer.

Hex_legend
10-06-2007, 01:51 PM
Ok,

So I have removed can_administer from all files, but still can't get past the ACP login screen using a registered user.

Marco van Herwaarden
10-07-2007, 08:28 AM
Not trying to be rude, but if you can not figure this out, then maybe your PHP skills are not up to the task you want to do. I strongly advice you to start with more simple things to avoid the risk of leaving large security vulnerabilites on your board.