Log in

View Full Version : how to add $foruminfo[forumid] in a plugin


Stickers
09-09-2007, 10:25 AM
Hi,

I was wondering if this is possible.. can i use this in a plugin <if condition="in_array($foruminfo[forumid], array(1,2,3,4,5,6))">

Best regards :p

Dismounted
09-09-2007, 10:38 AM
Plugins use PHP code, not a wrapper like the one you've shown. Use this:
if (in_array($foruminfo['forumid'], array(1,2,3,4,5,6)))
{
INSERT TRUE CODE
}
else
{
INSERT FALSE CODE
}

Stickers
09-09-2007, 12:10 PM
Hi Dismounted,

Do you know how i can display the child-forum id's? like if main forum id is 1 and the child-forums are 2,3,4,5

if (in_array($foruminfo['forumid'], array(1)))
{
$subforums.= "$child-forumid's from forumid 1";
}
or is this not possible?

Best regrads,

Dismounted
09-09-2007, 12:15 PM
You'll have to query for the ids then display them. What are you trying to do exactly with this?

Stickers
09-09-2007, 12:29 PM
i want to add the child-forumid automatically

like if put this in my template <if condition="in_array($foruminfo[forumid], array(1,$child-forumid))">
that $child-forumid add the child-forums id's

I have in forum id 1 more then 150 child forums and i want to save some time to add them all in the "<if condition="in_array($foruminfo[forumid], array(1,2,3,4,etc,))">

Best regards

Stickers
09-10-2007, 01:22 PM
someone an idea how to do this?

Pale Jewel
10-06-2007, 01:38 AM
Hi Stickers,
That sounds pretty much exactly what I'm trying to do. I've used the Ultimate Side Columns hack I got here to put a right side column in my forum home pages. What I want is to display links in that column to information pertaining to the subforums of the parent forum. i.e. Mexico has 2 subforums: Acapulco and Cancun. When your're in the Mexico forum, I want to see links to the Travel Guides for Acapulco and Cancun in that right column. Then when those individual links are clicked, it will show hotel information etc specific to those areas.

I've created a plugin that hooks into cache_templates. I can get it to display the childlist in an array as forumids.


$childlist_title = $foruminfo['childlist'];

foreach ($childlist_title AS $val)
{

// And then there is a piece of code that filters the ids of the main forum and the parent forum.


if ($val == -1 OR $val == $foruminfo[forumid])
{
"don't print";
}
else
{
"print";
}
}

But this is where I've gotten hung up. I'm not really experienced with PHP but I try awfully hard. :) And it's probably pretty basic PHP stuff but I can't seem to figure out how to put this into a code that will loop through the other values in the array and spit them out as $foruminfo[title]. I've tried both a for loop and foreach but my coding experience is not extensive enough for me to figure out what I'm doing wrong. It either prints nothing, or it prints the array. Have you gotten anywhere with your problem? Maybe what I've done might help you. Or better yet, maybe you can help me! :) Any ideas?

Thanks!

PJ