Log in

View Full Version : SQL query inserting extra parentheses?


subnet_rx
08-27-2007, 05:18 PM
I'm trying to insert some data in the db, but the below query inserts it with parentheses. Any other combination I try, even taking off all parentheses just results in a query error. What am I doing wrong?


$db->query_read("INSERT INTO picks_groups (group_title) VALUES ('$db->escape_string($event_name)')");

Adrian Schneider
08-27-2007, 05:45 PM
To call a function you need to break out of the double quotes like so,

$db->query_read("
INSERT INTO picks_groups
(group_title)
VALUES (
'" . $db->escape_string($event_name) . "'
)
");Used " to close the string, and then . (concat operator) to join it with the next section which calls the escape function, and then . and " again to go back to double quoted string mode.

Another (easier to read / write for some, but not necessarily better) method is this:$escaped = $db->escape_string($event_name);

$db->query_read("
INSERT INTO picks_groups
(group_title)
VALUES (
'$escaped'
)
");

subnet_rx
08-27-2007, 06:38 PM
Thanks, what is the proper way to clean an array inside $_POST? So, $_POST['outcome'][]

Dismounted
08-28-2007, 06:42 AM
$vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('p', 'outcome', TYPE_ARRAY_UINT);
The last bit of the type (UINT) can be any of the others, eg. STR, NUM and FILE.

Marco van Herwaarden
08-28-2007, 07:03 AM
$db->query_read("INSERT INTO..... INSERT is a write statement, you should not use query_read() ;)

Adrian Schneider
08-28-2007, 08:38 AM
lol good catch

Marco van Herwaarden
08-28-2007, 01:24 PM
Hehe, i was a bit surprised you did not catch that one, and even copied it to your improved code. :D

subnet_rx
08-28-2007, 04:57 PM
Thanks, I had caught that yesterday after reading through some of the vBulletin developer tools material. Thanks for that answer Dismounted.