PDA

View Full Version : php code in templates


webgod
08-15-2007, 10:32 PM
I'm a programmer by profession, but I am still trying to get the hang of Vbulletin.

here is what I am trying to do:

I'd like to place a snippet of code in the footer template that creates an array which israndom sorted then spits it out the resultants...

basically I'm randomize the display order of ~ 50 images.


The code works perfectly in a standalone php page...
however when I insert it into the footer template, it obviously does not.


so my question is, what is the easiest way of achieving my result?


here's a snippet of the php code structure:

$randimgs = array (
"<img src='1.jpg'>",
"<img src='2.jpg'>",
"<img src='3.jpg'>",
"<img src='4.jpg'>");

srand((float)microtime() * 1000000);
shuffle($randimgs);
foreach ($randimgs as $randimg) {
echo "$randimg";
}

Wayne Luke
08-15-2007, 10:42 PM
The easiest way? Creating a plugin. You can't put PHP code into vBulletin's templates for security purposes. (((Though with the new plugin system this is kind of oxymoronic))).

Put your code in a global_start plugin and assign the output to a variable. Then put that variable in your footer template.

webgod
08-15-2007, 10:45 PM
The easiest way? Creating a plugin. You can't put PHP code into vBulletin's templates for security purposes. (((Though with the new plugin system this is kind of oxymoronic))).

Put your code in a global_start plugin and assign the output to a variable. Then put that variable in your footer template.

after I posted I had the same idea...

except I put the php code in the global.php page


and instead of echo(ing) the result I'll load it into a variable and up the variable in the footer template

my method with global.php did not work.

but your plugin method sure did.

thanks a million :up: