PDA

View Full Version : Please help. Simple variable question


bpn
08-05-2007, 03:44 AM
Hi,

I have just installed a chatroom on my site, which is being called with a javascript link that includes the logged in persons username, avatar, etc.

To get the link/url in my navbar, all I had to do, was to add this code: $chatLink

$chatLink is defined in global.php

Here's my problem. I want to have a forum title opening the chatroom as well, so

I have created a forum, and as title I added this:

<a href="$chatLink">Chatroom</a>


But $chatLink is not parsed at all.
I tried with the Forum Description as well with the same result.

The last thing I tried was to add the link to my forum in the
forumhome_forumbit_columncell
with an if statement...but still no go...$chatLink will not get parsed what so ever

I have tried to add the variable many places, fx. functions_forumlist.php, but without luck.

Can you please help me in the right direction, or is this mission impossible ?


If this is a more advanced than I think, I will paypal as well.


Thanks,
Bpn

Dismounted
08-05-2007, 05:31 AM
Variables are not parsed in forum titles.

bpn
08-05-2007, 10:08 AM
Ouch no wonder I can't get it to work.

Do you think it's possible to make it do it somehow, or maybe use another workaround
like making a normal javascript link without variables, that is calling a function that can get the variables ?

Eikinskjaldi
08-05-2007, 01:00 PM
In the forum editing functions in admincp you can set a forum to be redirected to any old url regardless of what title the forum has. I doubt it will parse, so it wont pass along any variables, but since all those variables can be derived from the session, there isn't any need to pass them in the first place.

bpn
08-05-2007, 02:12 PM
Sorry if this is a stupid question...but what do you mean with this ?

"but since all those variables can be derived from the session, there isn't any need to pass them in the first place."