View Full Version : Query for forum(s) thread count
ResaleBroker
07-17-2007, 02:11 AM
I would like to display the thread count for one or more forums in my "Articles (http://www.salespractice.com/forums/articles.php)" page which is a modified "showgroups" page (3.6.x).
Currently the number assigned to "Available Articles:" is hand coded and I'm trying to automate the process. I'm would also like to display the number of threads in each forum next to the respective category.
Does anyone know what query(s) I could use to do this?
Thank you for any help you can offer. :)
Eikinskjaldi
07-17-2007, 02:31 AM
I would like to display the thread count for one or more forums in my "Articles (http://www.salespractice.com/forums/articles.php)" page which is a modified "showgroups" page (3.6.x).
Currently the number assigned to "Available Articles:" is hand coded and I'm trying to automate the process. I'm would also like to display the number of threads in each forum next to the respective category.
Does anyone know what query(s) I could use to do this?
Thank you for any help you can offer. :)
the data lives in the threadcount property of the forums in the forumcache
$vbulletin->forumcache[$forumid]['threadcount']
ResaleBroker
07-17-2007, 02:54 AM
the data lives in the threadcount property of the forums in the forumcache
$vbulletin->forumcache[$forumid]['threadcount']
Thank you for the prompt reply. How would I implement this for that page I listed?
I tried adding this code to the template without success:
{$vbulletin->forumcache[$forumid == 167][threadcount]}
Eikinskjaldi
07-17-2007, 03:24 AM
Thank you for the prompt reply. How would I implement this for that page I listed?
I tried adding this code to the template without success:
{$vbulletin->forumcache[$forumid == 167][threadcount]}
I have no idea how your template is interacting with your code, however what you want is
$vbulletin->forumcache[167][threadcount]
I used $forumid because I assumed you were using some kind of template_bit to generate the forum links.
ResaleBroker
07-17-2007, 03:34 AM
I have no idea how your template is interacting with your code, however what you want is
$vbulletin->forumcache[167][threadcount]
I used $forumid because I assumed you were using some kind of template_bit to generate the forum links.When I past that code into the template this is the output: Array[167][threadcount]
Eikinskjaldi
07-17-2007, 05:04 AM
Probably need to play around with quotes and braces
30 seconds with google later, I found this...
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=98009
Object-Type" Variables ($vbulletin->GPC['somevar']).
Do use single quotes, but wrap such variables into figure brackets. One valid example is {$vbulletin->GPC['somevar']}.
If you attempt using $vbulletin->GPC['somevar'] or $vbulletin->GPC[somevar], you will get an error
However its 3.5, not 3.6, I am not sure the {} are needed. I recommend having a play with braces and quotes. Alternatively, alias the forum in code, and reference the alias.
ResaleBroker
07-17-2007, 05:17 AM
Thank you for your help. I do appreciate it.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.