Log in

View Full Version : possible to include(global.php) in a class?


SaltedSlug
05-30-2007, 05:48 AM
Hello, here's my test case (php4):

Test.php

<?
class Test {
function Test() {
$cwd = getcwd();
chdir($_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'].'/talk');
include_once('global.php');
chdir($cwd);
}
function Whoami() {
global $vbulletin;
return $vbulletin->userinfo["username"];
}
}
?>



dotest.php

<?
include("Test.php");
$dotest = new Test;
echo($dotest->Whoami());
?>


always dies with:

Fatal error: Call to a member function on a non-object in
(snip)talk/includes/functions.php on line 1154


The constructor in the class always dies at the include statement, Whoami is never called.
Is it possible to create a $vbulletin registry object inside of a class?

I did a search and attempted using the solution proposed Here (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=949948&postcount=18) by kolita, and that gives me a vbulletin object that has all the standard properties and that I can enumerate, but only if I skip creating a session (meaning my userinfo array is empty), and this is useless for me.

i.e. if I comment out

define('SKIP_SESSIONCREATE', 1);

I get the same error as above.

Anyone have some insight? I'm trying to build a amfphp connector to vbulletin and i'm truly stumped. thanks :)

Dismounted
05-30-2007, 07:19 AM
Instead of include_once, try require_once.

byon
05-30-2007, 10:45 AM
Instead of include_once, try require_once.

How would include_once be different from require_once? i guess your statement was, Instead of include, try require_once. yeah?

Sorry to hijack this thread, but it would be more logical to type here then creating another unnecessary thread.


thanks! :D

Dismounted
05-31-2007, 11:36 AM
How would include_once be different from require_once?
Include continues regardless if the file was found or not. Require spits out an error and stops execution if it doesn't find the file.

SaltedSlug
05-31-2007, 02:51 PM
For the purposes of this thread there's no difference between include, require, include_once and require_once.

Note that the error is not occuring in either of the files defined above - but instead in functions.php which is part of the vbulletin inner-workings. This means that the include/require is working up until the point where something about it being inside of a class construct makes Vbulletin go haywire.

Dismounted
06-01-2007, 10:32 AM
What version of vBulletin are you using? Line 1154 in 3.6.7 PL1 is part of a comment:
* @return array The information for the requested user