Log in

View Full Version : need help in PHP code :)


Almotmaiz.Net
03-28-2007, 03:10 PM
heloo evey body ...

i Build a PHP code to get some Information from my VB database ..

wut's wrong in my code ..


$AlzaabiChars = intval(500);
$AlzaabiDisplay = intval(3);
$SQL = $db->query_read("
SELECT post.dateline, post.pagetext, thread.threadid, thread.title
FROM post, thread
ORDER BY dateline DESC LIMIT 0, $AlzaabiDisplay");
while($Alzaabi = $db->fetch_array($SQL)){
if(strlen($Alzaabi['pagetext']) > $AlzaabiChars){
$Alzaabi['pagetext'] = substr($Alzaabi['pagetext'], 0, strrpos(substr($Alzaabi['pagetext'], 0, $AlzaabiChars), ' ')) . '...';
}else{
$Alzaabi['pagetext'] = $Alzaabi['pagetext']
}
eval('$Alzaabi .= "' . fetch_template('Alzaabi') . '";');
}


<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
<td>
<table border="0" width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<td><img border="0" src="images/KalbaEyes_tcat_02.gif" width="88" height="25"></td>
<td style="background-image: url('images/KalbaEyes_tcat_01.gif'); background-repeat: no-repeat; background-position: right center" width="100%">
<a href="showthread.php?t=$Alzaabi['threadid']">$Alzaabi['title']</a>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
<td class="alt1">
<table border="0" width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<td align="center">$Alzaabi['pagetext']</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="left">
<a href="showthread.php?t=$Alzaabi['threadid']">Read more ..</a></td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<table border="0" width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<td><img border="0" src="images/shadow.gif" width="150" height="15"></td>
<td width="100%">&nbsp;</td>
<td><img border="0" src="images/rshadow.gif" width="150" height="15"></td>
</tr>
</table>
<br />


need help

Lynne
03-28-2007, 06:53 PM
What is the error message you are getting? It's hard to help when we don't know what you are seeing. (Do you have a test page we can look at?)

Almotmaiz.Net
03-28-2007, 06:55 PM
no error msg .. give me a plank page without any result ..

TECK
03-30-2007, 07:03 AM
$AlzaabiChars and $AlzaabiDisplay are already INT's, no need to redefine them again.
You can also toss the ELSE, is not needed. And you should use the slave query style. :)
BTW, you have a syntax error:
$Alzaabi['pagetext'] = $Alzaabi['pagetext']
You miss a ; at the end.
I hope you don't have a busy site, because your actual query will break your server, the way it is now.
Not to mention the permissions. If you have a private forum, your above query results will show to everyone, not making you a happy camper. :)

When you ask a code question, you need to tell us some decent info.
Are you inside a function (hook location, for example global_complete), so you globalize your $Alzaabi var?
Did you run the query to see what it outputs, as result?
Did you var_dumped $Alzaabi['pagetext'] in the loop?

I don't see any of this info posted into your thread. Without proper info, you cannot get proper answers.
Hackers will simply ignore you and you will get frustrated.

EDIT. Don't use the PHP bbcode, it wraps the code. Use the CODE value instead.