PDA

View Full Version : Problem setting RSS feeds to request though a proxy server


jhei21
03-28-2007, 01:33 AM
Hi all,

My host has recently changed the way they handle outbound HTTP requests and this has killed my RSS feeds. they told me that the fsockopen command will need to go through a proxy server.

I have been gettin the following error:

Warning: fsockopen(): unable to connect to feeds.feedburner.com:80 in /includes/class_rss_poster.php on line 85

Warning: Unable to fetch RSS Feed in /includes/class_rss_poster.php on line 212

I changed the following lines in the /includes/class_rss_poster.php

line 85:
$fp = fsockopen($url['host'], $url['port'], $errno, $errstr, 5);

line 89:
$fp = @fsockopen($url['host'], $url['port'], $errno, $errstr, 5);

to

line 85:
$fp = fsockopen($url['proxy.proxy.proxy.com.au'], $url['3128'], $errno, $errstr, 5);

line 89:
$fp = @fsockopen($url['proxy.proxy.proxy.com.au'], $url['3128'], $errno, $errstr, 5);

but still get an error on line 212. Any ideas?

Any help would be great.

MarkPW
03-28-2007, 11:45 AM
Remove your new code and update $url['host'] and $url['port'] so that they correspond to your new settings.

You should have the following set before calling fsockopen:

$url['host'] = 'yourproxyaddress';
$url['port'] = '3128';

The reason your new code is not working is because the variables $url['proxy.proxy.proxy.com.au'] and $url['3128'] do not exist. What I think you were trying to achieve is: fsockopen('proxy.proxy.proxy.com.au', '3128', $errno, $errstr, 5);

jhei21
03-30-2007, 02:30 AM
No luck i just get a

XML Error: mismatched tag at Line 5

which would be referring to this:

if (!isset($GLOBALS['vbulletin']->db))
{
exit;
}