PDA

View Full Version : Odd behavior with template conditionnals


becafuel
03-22-2007, 08:32 AM
Hello !

Today I came across a problem with template conditionnals which seems weird. In short : same condition does not work in a template but works fine in another one :eek: (without any changes, of course).

Example :
create a new template and fill it with <if condition="is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo,6)">Group 6<else />Other group</if> (eventually choose another group that suits your forum)


Now use this template in a small program <?php
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'test');

$phrasegroups = array();
$specialtemplates = array();
$globaltemplates = array('your_template');
$actiontemplates = array();

require_once('./global.php');

eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('your_template') . '");');
?>
Display will show if you're a member of group 6 or not. Fine.

Now, copy the small template code in the postbit template, at the very beginning (location is not important, in fact, but it's easier to see the modified code at the beginning ;) )
Same result as before should now display just under the thread tool bar. But it doesn't :(
However, you can see the correct display result if you replace $vbulletin->userinfo with $bbuserinfo within the template... https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2007/03/6.gif

Now take the same template code again (the one with $vbulletin->userinfo) and paste it in the navbar template like if you wanted to create an new option in it. Now it works again, with either $vbulletin->userinfo or $bbuserinfo :)

Does anyone have any info on such behavior ?

I haven't yet tested with other predfined templates, so I may have found the only one that's working this way ;)

becafuel
03-23-2007, 09:19 AM
After some tests, it seems that only postbit and postbit_legacy are concerned... I say "seems", as I haven't tested all templates, of course, but nearly 20 of the most common ones. All 20 are giving correct results with $vbulletin->userinfo variable.

Btw, I find it rather "good" that only those templates are concerned, as it may have to do with some special treatment for them :)

If I get no response or no clue from here, I will try to investigate deeper.

TheMilkCarton
03-23-2007, 10:28 AM
You need to use different variables depending on what template. :) By the way, I believe "$vbulletin->userinfo" is just the long way of saying $bbuserinfo, but I dunno, maybe you still have to write it out longhand in some templates.

In the postbit, this: <if condition="is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo,6)">Group 6<else />Other group</if>
would be this instead<if condition="is_member_of($post, 6)">Group 6<else />Other group</if>

And to add, memberinfo uses "$userinfo".. It really all just depends on the template. :)

Marco van Herwaarden
03-23-2007, 10:33 AM
$vbulletin->userinfo will in most cases contain the information of the user browsing the page (ie. the logged in user).

The $post in the example contains the userinfo of the member that made this one post.

becafuel
03-23-2007, 11:59 AM
... depending on what template. :) ... <snip>... It really all just depends on the template. :)

$vbulletin->userinfo will in most cases contain the information of the user browsing the page (ie. the logged in user).

"in most cases" and "depending on templates" : that's exactly what I've found out ;)


In this tutorial (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=98047), we can see that VARIABLES ENABLED FOR TEMPLATES
$vboptions['x'], $bbuserinfo['x'] and $session['x'] do work in the template system without running legacy_enable()And if we look in the legacy_enable() code, we can see that/**
* Reenable the various legacy variables. This is not recommended for long term compatibility.Finally, and just in case the message was not clear enough ;), here's what we can find in includes/functions_misc.php/**
* Replaces legacy variable names in templates with their modern equivalents
*
* @param string Template to be processed
* @param boolean Handle replacement of vars outside of quotes
*
* @return string
*/
function replace_template_variables($template, $do_outside_regex = false)
{
// matches references to specifc arrays in templates and maps them to a better internal format
// this function name is a slight misnomer; it can be run on phrases with variables in them too!

// include the $, but escape it in the key
static $variables = array(
'\$vboptions' => '$GLOBALS[\'vbulletin\']->options',
'\$bbuserinfo' => '$GLOBALS[\'vbulletin\']->userinfo',
'\$session' => '$GLOBALS[\'vbulletin\']->session->vars',
);

That's why I wanted to use the $vbulletin->userinfo variable. But this one, and may be others, do not work in at least postbit and postbit_legacy.

So I think there are some troubles out there ;)