PDA

View Full Version : Trying to figure out if user has specified avatar


brandondrury
03-16-2007, 04:43 AM
Hello,

I was wondering if anyone could tell me where I could find the database table / column that tells if an avatar has been set by the user.

I've found that if I try to snag the avatar using the following method from a member who does not have an avatar, I get some default vBulletin image.

$avatarid = "http://forum.recordingreview.com/image.php?u=$userid";

Because vBulletin still returns an image, I haven't figured out how to right a php IF statement for this. It seams I need to figure it out from the database.

Brandon

WhaLberg
03-16-2007, 09:43 AM
If I am not wrong you want to check if a user has an avatar or not.

You can go to avatar or customavatar fields to see whether a user has an avatar or not.

brandondrury
03-16-2007, 05:51 PM
Any idea what table those would be under?

I checked the user table and didn't find any values for any of the avatar fields even though many of the users have avatars.

Brandon

Okay, I found it. It's under the "customavatar" table.

Brandon

WhaLberg
03-16-2007, 06:29 PM
I told that in my first post.

<?
$query = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM customavatar WHERE userid='$userid'");
if (mysql_num_rows($query)>0)
{
echo "this user has an avatar.";
}
?>

Brad
03-16-2007, 06:50 PM
Use this script;

// ### You'll need the globals, but you probably already include this script so remove this line if you do!
require_once('./global.php');

// ### You'll need the user functions, remove this line if it's already begin called
require_once('./includes/functions_user.php');

// ### Just making sure it's not already set! ;)
unset($avatar_url, $avatar);
$show['avatar'] = false; // for the templates

// ### Is user logged in?
if ($vbulletin->userinfo['userid'])
{
// User logged in, so fetch avatar (one query)
$avatar_url = fetch_avatar_url($vbulletin->userinfo['userid']);

// If user has avatar set some vars
if (is_array($avatar_url)
{
$avatar['url'] = $avatar_url[0];
$avatar['size'] = $avatar_url[1];
$show['avatar'] = true;
}
}

and this in the template in question;

<if condition="$show[avatar]">
<img src="$avatar[url]" border="0" $avatar[size] />
</if>