PDA

View Full Version : Question about inserting data into DB


SocomNego
03-05-2007, 10:27 PM
Ok this is what I have for a registration form.....just the part for inserting it! Oh and just to let you know the error checking crap is above the array so don't worry about the "<?php" beginning tag.

//put user data into an array
$userdata = array('username' => $uname,
'password' => $pass,
'nickname' => $nickname,
'fname' => $fname,
'lname' => $lname,
'address' => $address,
'city' => $city,
'state' => $state,
'zip' => $zip,
'phone' => $phone,
'email' => $email,
'rookie' => $rookie);

}

?>

<form action="<?php echo $_SERVER['PHP_SELF']; ?>" method="post">
<div align="center">
<?php
// check to see if errors...if errors are > than 0 then report errors otherwise send registration data to db.
if(count($errors) > 0) {
foreach($errors as $error) {
echo('<div style="color:red; font-weight:bold;">' . $error . '</div>');
}
}
elseif(count($errors) < 1) {
$add_user = mysql_query("Insert into users values ('".$userdata."')");
if ($add_user) {
echo '<div style="color:blue; font-weight:bold;">Registration is complete</div>';
}else {
echo '<div style="color:red; font-weight:bold;">Problem inserting info into the Database.</div>';
}
}
?>


Now in the DB I have an ID which is the first field, and then I have a joindate which is the last field. For some reason when I hit submit (when there are no errors) I still get the Problem inserting info into the Database.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
-Kraig-

harmor19
03-06-2007, 01:06 AM
I can help you but first you need to write a proper script. Is this code going to be used in vBulletin?

Marco van Herwaarden
03-06-2007, 06:26 AM
Also define "Problem inserting info into the Database"