View Full Version : Using our own user database
shanavazea
11-04-2006, 06:42 AM
Hi,
We have installed vbulletin on our web site. We already have a registration form for our customers and a database containing there details and password. We would like to use that as the user database for allowing access to the bulletin, so that all our registered users can gain access to the bulletin. Can we do that?
Or can I insert a row in to the vbulletin user table when I accept registration details for my website? How can I do that?
Pls help me if anybody has any idea regarding this.
Thanks
Shanavaz.
Chroder
11-05-2006, 04:48 AM
There are a couple ways you can do this.
First is to hack the way one of the softwares (be it your existing form or vBulletin itself) to use the other user base for user-related things. vBulletin is complex so I wouldn't recommend hacking the way it handles users, but if your existing app only stores users and passwords and thats about it, then perhaps you can make it use the vBulletin user base. If this were the case you could simply create a script to copy users into vBulletin, then edit the other app to start using the vB user base.
The second way is to keep the two user bases synced. So when a new user signs up in one app, then automatically create a record in the other app. Downside to this is that you also have to create code in both applications that will update the other data whenever there is an update. For example, user changes a password in vB you need to update the password in the other app as well.
Unfortunately there's no easy way to integrate the vB user base with other applications. Something like LDAP is what many vB customers want very badly. So when you ask 'how', it's not really that simple. You will need to know how to code, or hire a coder to do the job for you.
shanavazea
11-05-2006, 11:08 AM
Hi,
Thanks for the reply. I am new to PHP, but I am an ASP programmer. I think I can insert a row into the vbulletin user database whenever a new user is registered in our website. But when I checked the vbulletin user table and php code, I found that the password is encrypted and there are some values to be inserted which I dont know. So can anybody give me the PHP or ASP code which can be used to insert a new row into vbulletin user database with encryption, any functions to be called and other stuff.
Thanks
Shanavaz.
shanavazea
11-08-2006, 11:49 AM
Hi friends,
Can any body please give me a code where I can insert a single row into the vbulletin user table? What I want is if I call this script it should insert a given username and details into the user table so that I can login to the forum using that username & password. Please help me. Its urgent. I dont know php programming, thats why. pls.....
Thanks very much
Shanavaz.
sebbe
11-08-2006, 12:54 PM
This should give you a hint
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=82836
Good luck!
shanavazea
11-09-2006, 04:11 AM
Hi,
I got the following code from that thread.
$newuser =& datamanager_init('User', $vbulletin, ERRTYPE_ARRAY);
$newuser->set('username', 'phpNukeUser');
$newuser->set('email', 'foo@bar.com');
$newuser->set('password', 'verysecret');
$newuser->set('usergroupid', 2);
But this code will work alone? How would I create the datamanager class? Which all files should I include? Pls help because I am new to php programming.
Thanks
Shanavaz.
fhs2006
11-14-2006, 10:18 AM
i post it here again,
as mentioned before in this thread https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=1116953 i found a guy implementing LDAP authentication to vbulletin. he is doing custom stuff, too.
-fhs
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.