PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to parse php code in templates? Need help with PHP needs.


cleck673
10-20-2006, 03:37 PM
I am clueless on this. I have a program that I run along side vBulletin that I have integrated commenting into the forums for. This uses ezSQL to pass the data from one db to another.

What I need is to add this to my header:

<?php
// Include ezSQL in order to use it..
include_once '/home/mobility/domain.com/ez_sql.php';

$vb_db_prefix = '<MTVBDBPrefix>';
$vb_reply_abc = '<MTVBForumURL>'.'showthread.php?t=';
$vb_reply_xyz = '&amp;goto=newpost';
?>


And this where I need it displayed in my template.

<?php
$vb_thread_id = <MTVBThreadID>;
$vb_reply_cnt = $db->get_var("SELECT count(*)-1 FROM {$vb_db_prefix}post WHERE threadid = '$vb_thread_id'");
$vb_reply_url = $vb_reply_abc.$vb_thread_id.$vb_reply_xyz;
?>

and

<?php
$vb_thread_id = <MTVBThreadID>;
$vb_reply_cnt = $db->get_var("SELECT count(*)-1 FROM {$vb_db_prefix}post WHERE threadid = '$vb_thread_id'");
$vb_reply_url = $vb_reply_abc.$vb_thread_id.$vb_reply_xyz;

if ($vb_thread_id) {
?>
| <a href="<?php echo $vb_reply_url; ?>">Comments (<?php echo $vb_reply_cnt; ?>)</a>
<?php
} else {
?>
<MTIfCommentsActive>| <a href="<$MTEntryPermalink$>#comments">Comments (<$MTEntryCommentCount$></a></MTIfCommentsActive>
<?php
}
?>


This works great on the static pages that I build with the application.


What is happening if I add these to the header and templates now is the code is shown with some stuff stripped.

Signed,
Clueless

Paul M
10-20-2006, 04:08 PM
No, you cannot put php code in templates.

cleck673
10-20-2006, 04:20 PM
Are there any alternatives?

Kirk Y
10-20-2006, 08:08 PM
Use Hooks. ;)

cleck673
10-20-2006, 09:26 PM
Any linkable resources someone has bookmarked that can teach me a bit about Hooks? I pick up fast, but this is past my current knowledge. Thanks!

Kirk Y
10-20-2006, 11:24 PM
Tutorial List: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=99570
Hook Writing: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=82625