PDA

View Full Version : $vbphrase question


andewy3k
10-06-2006, 08:22 AM
Im not sure if this is the "proper" section to be posting, but I am trying to insert $vbphrase[avatar] to display the users avatar right on the front page..

I tried $vbphrase[avatar]

and

<img src=$vbphrase[avatar]>

nothing works..

thanks ahead of time..

BigJohnny
10-06-2006, 12:19 PM
im pretty sure this is because you are trying to use a PHRASE to display an IMAGE.

and also because phrases dont store images.

andewy3k
10-06-2006, 08:04 PM
alright so what do I use to bring over the avatar image for the user?

???
???

BigJohnny
10-07-2006, 04:02 PM
i believe its $bbuserinfo[avatar]

im not too sure on that though.

andewy3k
10-07-2006, 04:38 PM
it did not work, I used

<img src=$bbuserinfo[avatar]>

and just

$bbuserinfo[avatar]

but nothing :(

anyone else have any ideas?

thanks ahead of time

harmor19
10-08-2006, 10:53 AM
Taken from the "postbit" template and slightly modified it.

<img src="$bbuserinfo[avatarurl]" $bbuserinfo[avwidth] $bbuserinfo[avheight] alt="<phrase 1="$bbuserinfo[username]">$vbphrase[xs_avatar]</phrase>" border="0" />

andewy3k
10-08-2006, 10:24 PM
wow even that did not work :(

just gives a dreaded red X of doom.

BigJohnny
10-09-2006, 10:46 PM
click on the rex and go to properties, find out where it is looking for the image or what it is looking for.

Adrian Schneider
10-09-2006, 10:58 PM
Take a look at the function fetch_avatar_url() from includes/functions_user.php. It will depend on the board, too, because there are a few different ways avatars are stored. This function will take care of them all.

andewy3k
10-10-2006, 02:23 AM
click on the rex and go to properties, find out where it is looking for the image or what it is looking for.

I checked the code its showing ..

<img src="" alt="" border="0" />

which obviously means its not picking up the avatar..


Take a look at the function fetch_avatar_url() from includes/functions_user.php. It will depend on the board, too, because there are a few different ways avatars are stored. This function will take care of them all.




Here is the function fetch_avatar_url() function...



// ###################### Start getavatarurl #######################
function fetch_avatar_url($userid)
{
global $vbulletin;

if ($avatarinfo = $vbulletin->db->query_first_slave("
SELECT user.avatarid, user.avatarrevision, avatarpath, NOT ISNULL(customavatar.userid) AS hascustom, customavatar.dateline,
customavatar.width, customavatar.height
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "user AS user
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "avatar AS avatar ON avatar.avatarid = user.avatarid
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "customavatar AS customavatar ON customavatar.userid = user.userid
WHERE user.userid = $userid"))
{
if (!empty($avatarinfo['avatarpath']))
{
return array($avatarinfo['avatarpath']);
}
else if ($avatarinfo['hascustom'])
{
$avatarurl = array('hascustom' => 1);

if ($vbulletin->options['usefileavatar'])
{
$avatarurl[] = $vbulletin->options['avatarurl'] . "/avatar{$userid}_{$avatarinfo['avatarrevision']}.gif";
}
else
{
$avatarurl[] = "image.php?u=$userid&amp;dateline=$avatarinfo[dateline]";
}

if ($avatarinfo['width'] AND $avatarinfo['height'])
{
$avatarurl[] = " width=\"$avatarinfo[width]\" height=\"$avatarinfo[height]\" ";
}
return $avatarurl;
}
else
{
return '';
}
}
}


Hope this info helps, thanks ahead of time :)

harmor19
10-10-2006, 05:08 AM
Try this.

<?php
require_once('./global.php');
include(DIR . '/includes/functions_user.php');

$avatar = fetch_avatar_url($vbulletin->userinfo['userid'])

echo "<img src=$avatar alt='' border='0' />";

?>

andewy3k
10-10-2006, 06:10 AM
no, this time no image shows at all.. not even a red x..

could it be because we are using php tags within html?

Adrian Schneider
10-10-2006, 06:57 AM
It returns an array.... you'll need to use $avatar[0] to get the img src, and $avatar[1] (contains HTML) to get the width/height.

<img src="$avatar[0]"$avatar[1] alt="" />

andewy3k
10-10-2006, 07:18 AM
still not working.. get red x

i tried




<?php
require_once('./global.php');
include(DIR . '/includes/functions_user.php');

$avatar = fetch_avatar_url($vbulletin->userinfo['userid'])

echo "<a href="usercp.php"><img src="$avatar[0]"$avatar[1] alt="Your Avatar" /></a>";

?>





then i tried





<?php
require_once('./global.php');
include(DIR . '/includes/functions_user.php');

$avatar = fetch_avatar_url($vbulletin->userinfo['userid'])

?>

<a href="usercp.php"><img src="$avatar[0]"$avatar[1] alt="Your Avatar" /></a>




any more ideas?

andewy3k
10-10-2006, 07:20 AM
see, look at the attached image..

harmor19
10-10-2006, 07:43 AM
When you say "front page" do you mean your forums' index?

andewy3k
10-10-2006, 08:32 AM
yup, also known in the styles manager as "FORUMSHOME"

btw. im not using VBadvance or w/e that mod is called..

harmor19
10-10-2006, 08:52 AM
Download the attachment and import it to your plugins.
Open up your "FORUMHOME" template and add $avatar anywhere you want.

andewy3k
10-10-2006, 08:03 PM
WORKS GREAT!

but, I still need some kind of IF statement within the plugin or within the forumshome template

to check if the user has an avatar, if not .. to show a special image

if so

show their avatar..

any help is appreciated..

andewy3k
10-11-2006, 08:32 PM
_______________________________________________

anyone? I need an if statement :)

Just like basically saying

If "user has avatar" then

code to pickup avatar and place within var $avatar

else

blank.gif (to show they dont have one)

Adrian Schneider
10-11-2006, 09:27 PM
Replace your plugin PHP code with this: include(DIR . '/includes/functions_user.php');

$fetchavatar = fetch_avatar_url($vbulletin->userinfo['userid']);
$avatar = (is_array($fetchavatar)
? "<img src=$fetchavatar[0] $fetchavatar[1] alt='' />"
: '<img src="images/defaultavatar.gif" alt="No Avatar" />'
);

andewy3k
10-12-2006, 12:53 AM
thanks :)

with some minor tweaks. it works great.. thanks :)