Log in

View Full Version : Adding a usergroup permission radio button to admincp


alfaowner
09-21-2006, 08:48 AM
Hi all, firstly thanks for clicking on to my problem... I really searched hard and could not find the answer.

In 2005 I paid for a custom hack to be made by vbmechanic, the job was completed and I was fairly happy. However, when I upgraded to v 3.5.4 the permission to access the hack was lost. IE: There is no longer a radio button for me to select in the admin usergroup etc... no one are able to view and administer the hack pages anymore. I read that permissions used to be done in usergroups.php, but as this was overwrited, its now gone.

How can I get these permission radio buttons back? which files do you edit? Can it be done with a plug in? Does anyone have an example of code that I could play with...

BTW - The database user tables are still in tact.

Many thanks for any replies,

Regards,

AO
www.alfaowner.com (http://www.alfaowner.com)

nico_swd
09-21-2006, 09:24 AM
If you upgraded, your hack is most probably lost. Just adding the radio button wouldn't help. Try asking the person who made the hack and see if there's a version of it, compatible with vB 3.5.4, and ask if you can get the code. If it's just the button that's missing, here's a sample code for a radio button.


print_radio_row($vbphrase['auto_subscription_mode'], 'user[autosubscribe]', array(
-1 => $vbphrase['subscribe_choice_none'],
0 => $vbphrase['subscribe_choice_0'],
1 => $vbphrase['subscribe_choice_1'],
2 => $vbphrase['subscribe_choice_2'],
3 => $vbphrase['subscribe_choice_3'],
), $user['autosubscribe'], 'smallfont');

alfaowner
09-21-2006, 09:29 AM
Hi, i didnt mention but it was a bolt on with its own admin pages, however, its just the tieing in that is missing. thanks for the reply ill see if this helps, but where does it go exactly?

thank you

nico_swd
09-21-2006, 01:12 PM
I can't say where it goes since it's a custom hack. I'd need to see the code. Also note that the code I posed won't work for what you're trying to do. It's just an example on how to create a radio button group in vB. The best would be if you'd ask the person who made the hack for you.

alfaowner
09-21-2006, 05:23 PM
they are not around anymore :( thank you for your time though

nico_swd
09-22-2006, 01:17 PM
Sometimes there are email addresses left, in a comment in the code or something. Check the admin files from the hack. You might got some luck and they can still help you out.

Antivirus
09-23-2006, 03:16 AM
perhaps if you post the code from the script which is located within admincp, I can help. The print_radio_radio row function would most likely be called within the block of code that displays the rows you see within AdminCP page. For instance, somewhere between print_description_row and print_submit_row...

Paul M
09-23-2006, 03:39 AM
Hi, i didnt mention but it was a bolt on with its own admin pages, however, its just the tieing in that is missing. thanks for the reply ill see if this helps, but where does it go exactly?

thank youEven most "bolt-ons" still make use of vb functions, and they will fail in 3.5 if it was written for 3.0.