Log in

View Full Version : calling variable from another file


error_22
09-17-2006, 01:02 AM
Hi,

I was wondering if someone could explain something to me. I have a file called news.php:

news.php

<?
$sql = "SELECT * FROM `p_news` ORDER BY `p_id` DESC";
$result = mysql_query($sql) or die(mysql_error());
while ($row = mysql_fetch_object($result))
{
$title = $row->p_title;
$content = $row->p_content;
}
?>

Then I have another file, index.php:

index.php

<?
require ("./includes/db_con.php"); //connects to DB
require ("./includes/news.php");

echo $title;
echo "<br />";
echo $content;
echo "<br /><br />";
?>

My problem is, only the first row shows up, why is that, and how do I fix it?

Thanks in advance
Niklas

Guest190829
09-17-2006, 01:52 AM
Hi,

I was wondering if someone could explain something to me. I have a file called news.php:

news.php

<?


require ("./includes/db_con.php"); //connects to DB

$sql = "SELECT * FROM `p_news` ORDER BY `p_id` DESC";
$result = mysql_query($sql) or die(mysql_error());
while ($row = mysql_fetch_object($result))
{
$title = $row->p_title;
$content = $row->p_content;

echo $title;
echo "<br />";
echo $content;
echo "<br /><br />";

}
?>
Then I have another file, index.php:

index.php

<?
require ("./includes/news.php");

echo $title;
echo "<br />";
echo $content;
echo "<br /><br />";
?>
My problem is, only the first row shows up, why is that, and how do I fix it?

Thanks in advance
Niklas

Because that while loop is already processed before you echo $title and $content...

If you make it like this:


<?


require ("./includes/db_con.php"); //connects to DB

$sql = "SELECT * FROM `p_news` ORDER BY `p_id` DESC";
$result = mysql_query($sql) or die(mysql_error());
while ($row = mysql_fetch_object($result))
{
$title = $row->p_title;
$content = $row->p_content;

echo $title;
echo "<br />";
echo $content;
echo "<br /><br />";

}
?>


It should work...

error_22
09-17-2006, 02:27 AM
The thing is, the content of the "news" table is supposed to be displayed in more than one file, and the content is meant to be displayed differently on different pages. Do I really need to have a new query in every new file? isnt there an easier solution?